We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
132
107
46
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
107
46
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgentleman's clubclaw foot bathold fashioned charmmodern conveniencesheritage buildingcounter spacechain hotelsquiet streetnorthern explorerclose to the train stationbed was very comfortablelarge bathroomplunger coffeecable carte papa museumthe location is perfectwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel with character, friendly staff and a warm comfortable environment.
It’s a bit special and affordable.
We loved the old fashioned lift. Very quiet considering it’s very central.
We’ll be back....

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank trudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you found the building to be a bit special, it is certainly unique.

We look for to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. I was looking for something different from where I would normally stay. This hotel is elegant, old worldly and sophisticated. We loved the privacy and location to downtown Wellington.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Bushfamilyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us. It is such a lovely old building.
Hopefully we can look after you again if you are ever in Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

we stayed in the 'jeffries' room.. the 4th floor is indeed lovely.
beautiful historic interior, huge and awesome bathroom, extremely comfortable beds,
and a very entertaining elevator.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: the 4th Floor rooms are terrific
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a joy to have you stay with us at the hotel again and we look forward to seeeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely spacious, well appointed and comfortable room, great location (only 5mins walk to railway station).
Huge shower and a bath. Friendly staff. Would definitely choose again when visiting Wellington.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We have stayed previously, and again very happy. Nice to be in a small well run independent hotel. The bedrooms are huge, large bathrooms. Very comfortable beds, and lovely furnishings. Some of the curtains are a bit tatty but that adds to the old fashioned charm. Breakfast in 1815 good; can recommend the porridge; good coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FertyLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was lovely to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews