We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
154
246
218
97
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
246
218
97
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews westpac stadium minute walk railway station would stay again comfortable bed handy location hotel restaurant buffet breakfast lambton quay nona parliament motorway supermarket beehive wotif cbd jeff
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

My family stayed at Thorndon hotel. When we are having breakfast, our waitress Nona supplied great service. She was friendly and organised very well for us. But the restaurant was super busy and seems like only she is working in the hall?! Need more staff???

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 579kotomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback! and especially the feedback from Nona

Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Such friendly helpful staff, lovely food in the restaurant and room service. Our room was clean, tidy and modern. The shower head pressure was great, too. We were in 202.

We are from a touring band. One of our members has stayed in hotels all over the world and said that the bed was the most comfortable he has ever slept in. We would agree with him also. We got a great night's sleep. Easy check in and check out.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PearlR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Pearl,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you on your next trip to Wellington.


Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Good value for money, clean and tidy, nothing flash but completely fine for a business stay. Lady on counter was nice and helpful.
Being renovated so parking a bit tight.
WIFI was good. Room warm. Bathroom fine.
I work stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Darron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Darron,

Thank you for the feedback. Our renovations is now complete so there is a lot more parking.
We appreciate your patience.



Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Yes hotel is dated but clean and undergoing renovations. Centrally located so thats also a bonus. The restaurant meals are as good as you will get anywhere in wellington and tha wait staff are outstanding. Attentive without being pushy. The sirloin steak with spicey bourbon sause was as good as i have had anywhere in new zealand...stay here and try the restaurant..see for yourself. I for one will be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Ticktacktoe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Ticktacktoe001,

Thanks for your great feedback. We have been through a refurbishment process which finishes next week. While refurbishing any hotel can have inconveniences...we really appreciate the support we have had from our guests.

Hope to see you again soon!


Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Stayed one night half way through a weekend course. At under $100 for the room it was excellent value. Check-in was quick and simple, parking on-site - extra cost but piece of mind, supermarket and chip shop just over the road so very convenient AND it was quiet! Not the best place if you want to walk to the Wellington night life around Courtney Place but perfect when you are looking for somewhere in Wellington for a bed for the night! Bed comfortable, clean, WIFI worked and good room temperature. Would I stay again - maybe not for a romantic weekend away but for convenience on business on study, absolutely!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Tracey,

Thank you so much for the constructive feedback.


Regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews