We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
44
147
154
61
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
147
154
61
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa fire station oriental parade new world supermarket oriental bay courtney place courtenay place city centre would stay again stayed one night an easy walk harbour museum
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

While business colleagues were staying here, we actually had a meeting over dinner and, I was surprised: it was great; the Fish and Chips and Salad were very good. Such basics done well - in my view - speak volumes! They spoke.

The public spaces of the hotel are great and the restaurant space, excellent although I was pleased the lights were dimmed at some point. To begin with it was rather like being a deer in the spotlight.

Having said that, the service was excellent and the food and overall experience, also. Catching a cab to the airport was also made easy, the booking being made directly from the dining room front desk. Staff are really to be commended.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Good afternoon Benjamin,

Great to read you enjoyed your dining experience. The Bay Plaza Hotel is fortunate to have a wonderful kitchen team, who are providing wonderful meals.
We are fortaute to have a great central city location and the team look forward to welcoming you back for a another special dining experience.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

I have never stayed this end of the city given its price and proximity to Te Papa it was worth a try
Staff made the hotel - reception and restaurant
The breakfast choices were better than I expected and very reasonable
The dinner in the restaurant on the second night was great value - I had the fish of the day. The fish was coined to make what looked like large wheel / the fish was coiled. Presentation excellent- taste and experience was even better
My room is as 1104 and looked toward CBD. Very clean, well appointed - good clean bathroom with plenty of hot water
Great to be in a hotel with windows that opened; but they were old and did not seal well. A simple heater with a valve to turn on and off the flow of hot water — functional
Yes an old establishment- yes in need of a refresh - which is occurring - but it was clean - quiet - and above the wonderful staff made the experience enjoyable
Yes I will stay again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Good morning Richard,

Thanks for your positive comments, great to see you enjoyed our affordable central city hotel.
Great to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences; we are fortunate to have great food and beverage team.The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel on your next visit to Wellington to enjoy our great services.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The rooms are very old and dated. We were on the 7th floor and the window did not close properly which meant the wind was howling through, making a horrible noise.
The curtains were covered in mould and mildew, the wallpaper was peeling off in places. There were cracked tiles in the bathroom and very shoddy repairs around the bath.

Room tip: Great views from upper levels.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hearing1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your comments have been put forward for the refurbishment of the guest rooms planned for this winter.
I hope you do not feel too adversely towards us and that will give us the opportunity to redeem our reputation on a future visit to Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2018

This hotel is in a perfect location for you to explore Wellington. From our 7th floor room we could see Te Papa.
The hotel is old and maybe a little dated but the room was lovely and tidy, bed comfy, a single bed that has booster cushions for the back to turn it into a comfy couch.plus a coffee table and chair with tea coffee and a small fridge.
Bathroom compact but very useable with a good shower.
Staff were friendly and helpful and booking in was a breeze.
They do have a restaurant on site but we didn’t use it as we walked up to Courtenay Place each night for dinner. This is an easy walk with a lot to choose from.
The rooms do not have air conditioning so this could be a problem over the warmer months but was no problem in Autumn.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekohiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for posting such great feedback, we really appreciate the comments you made. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed many of the Hotel facilities.
The team are looking forward to welcoming you back to our affordable centrally located hotel for your next visit to Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Hotel handy to Te Papa and waterfront. Friendly, efficient staff. The bathroom was dated. The amenities were basic but the room was clean and tidy. Restaurant was very nice. Tasty meal and excellent service. Special requests were no problem.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marymlaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good morning Mary,

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you found our hotel value for money and well located. We are fortunate to have a great kitchen team and are introducing our new Winter menu this week, so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza Hotel to sample the new menu.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews