We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”
Review of Plateau

Plateau
Ranked #10 of 157 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located one block from the lake, Plateau Bar + Eatery in Lake Taupo is an award-winning New Zealand meeting place that serves the finest craft beers and kiwi inspired food. Since 2004, it has been nationally recognized by Hanz for its excellence in lamb and beef and celebrated by locals and tourists alike as showcasing the best of New Zealand wining and dining.
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The staff where great and friendly and showed no stress in the busy night we arrived, the Mulled wine was very tasty and hit the spot nicely, there could have had a weee bit more veg on the mains plate, but there was a side of veg that we could of course could have ordered. All in All happy with our choice.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyoneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Last minute night out and meal. Managed to get booking as they do book out but you can get full restaurant meals in bar. Arrived to friendly staff who were happy to help with food choices. Food was excellent just the right amount of waiting time without staff also at table but wine glass was always kept topped up as I say without staff always being about. We had deserts which they were helpful and had a bit of a joke at the same time. All in all a very nice night out with excellent food and location would recommend

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mikewendy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We had been here for a birthdat dinner and it was very good so we returned a couple of weeks later. The staff are very attentive and so friendly tonight my partner had a steak meal and panacotta he loved it. I had the mushroom room soup and it was divine that was followed by the steam pudding it was absolutely delicious and i savoured each mouthful, the coffee was nice and strong just how we like it. Please if your ever in Taupo pop in the decor is very nice and seating is nicely spaced. It is winter but in the restuarant it was very comfortable and there is a fire where you can sit and enjoy shared platter and drinks. Worth every $

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank GenevieveVanEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Celebrated 2 wedding anniversaries....the four of us had a magical meal, the service was excellent, and the wines divine!
Will we return? Oh indeed yes!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful food, friendly professional staff & warm,cozy dining area.
Highly recommend the beef & lamb! The deserts were tasty too. I will definitely return when next in taupo & have been telling everyone to go.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank pmhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plateau also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing