We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Acacia Heights Gardens(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chantilly's Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lake View Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huka Lodge(Taupo)
US$1,183
US$1,088
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
125
71
20
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
71
20
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate spacafe attachedhot tub on the balconyview of the lakedixie brownsthe managerssecure parkingrelaxing staystudio roomfree wifione night stayseparate bedroomglass of wineeasy accessair conditioningour honeymoonshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We could not have been happier with our all-too-brief stay at the Cove. Beautifully located on the shores of Lake Taupo, our suite afforded great views and was both spacious and comfortable. The cleverly located spa on the balcony was most welcome.

The cafe was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts sitting outside looking across the lake.

A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa. These suites are much bigger and worth every cent.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SJK055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi SJK055
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you found The Cove a brilliant place to stay and enjoyed the comfort and views from your suite. It was our pleasure to host you, we hope you can stay longer next time!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

1980's Motel recently refurb'd but still a 1980's motel unfortunately. No desk to work at ($50 extra for a room with a desk) 700mm tall wardrobe (see photo), pleasent check in but no offer of assistance with desk other than pay another $50 on top of already expensive tarrif for what is no more than a shoebox of a room. I now see other posts referring to room size. Expensive by alternative standards, will not be back.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi WEF27
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay. While we are disappointed to hear you were not happy with the room you had booked, it does afford us the opportunity to offer advice on room selection when booking. The room type you booked was our smallest and most affordable room type we have and while is small, does present a very cost effective option for travellers looking for a cost efficient stay. Most of our rooms are Spa Suites and have a separate bedroom to the lounge area, and a private spa pool on the balcony. While these rooms are twice the price of the compact mini studio you had booked, they are twice the size and provide great value if you are looking for more than just a basic room. We do also offer a corporate rate for corporate travellers staying on their own for business and, as you mentioned, for a $50 upgrade, these rooms are very well received at that corporate rate. Once again, we are sorry the room you chose did not meet your needs, we would urge you when making your bookings in future to check that the room type you are selecting provides everything it is that you personally require.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here over the Ironman weekend. The rooms were spacious and lovely. The view was amazing. Having your own private spa was a welcoming addition. The staff were so friendly and welcoming from the front desk to the housemaids.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank Ngaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Ngaire M
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend at The Cove and found your room, private spa and view lovely! It was our pleasure to host you at such an exciting time and we hope to welcome you back for Ironman again next year!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Had a 1-bedroom unit
Great to have a separate b/room. Lounge area was comfortable.
The spa on the outside deck is semi-enclosed, so good for a dip before bed.
Downstairs is a cafe serving quality food. Had a very good breakfast there. liked the fact we did not have to drive into Taupo for something to eat.
The only minor annoyance is limited parking with none undercover.
This is our 3rd stay over last couple of years and would happily recomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Andrew81
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you found your stay very comfortable and enjoyed your private hot tub. It gives us great pleasure to welcome back repeat guests and we look forward to seeing you again next time!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

The Cove is amazing.

The building itself sparkles as it captures an amazing retro-modern style that stands out amongst its surrounding buildings. The entrance and corridors maintain this look and have interesting artwork and sculptures.

Our room (room 12) was noticeably very clean and quiet. It had a decent sized living area which had air conditioning, a balcony with good views of the lake, and a cleverly hidden kitchen with sink, microwave, kettle and coffee making facilities that are perfect for breakfast and I also made two simple meals during our stay.

The bedroom had a good sized bed, a vanity/wardrobe area and a lovely bathroom in an art-deco style, really nice toiletries are included and we had very fluffy towels. The bedroom also had a patio door to the balcony that had the magic words “To Spa Pool”...

The spa pool on the balcony is the best in-bedroom hot-tub that I’ve experienced. It is outside but covered, which was great for the particularly wet weather being experienced. It seems to be properly maintained, and you can see views of the lake from the pool. Our room appeared to be the only upstairs balcony that is not overlooked by other rooms.

All the staff were very polite and helpful, especially Philippa who ensured we had a smooth check-in and that were were comfortable during our stay!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank redjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeeres, Your Hosts at The Cove Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hi Redjasper
Thank you so much for your wonderful and very detailed review! We are delighted you found The Cove amazing and enjoyed top notch rooms and service! Thank you for mentioning our lovely Phillippa, who checked you in on arrival - we are lucky to have her relieve for us when we are away as she does a superb job.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the spa pool on the balcony and the privacy with which the design affords guests whilst in their hot tub. We thank you again for taking the time to write us such a great review. We wish you all the very best for the rest of your NZ travels!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews