We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
151
52
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
52
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake tauposide windowcorner roomhot water beachuninterrupted viewswifi is freedirect access to the lakegreat accommodationtop floorbeautiful spotwalking pathself caterfriendly hostsappointed roomshappily stay againoverlooking lake
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We hadn’t booked and Lady Luck provided us with 5 nights in a luxury unit overlooking the lake. Every detail was attended to and there are lots of restaurants to eat or you can cook yourself in a fully equipped kitchen. The bonus was an indoor large spa bath. We were there a few months ago during the Commonwealth Games. The owners were like family and were constantly asking if we needed anything. We are going back next year as we are visiting Rotorua again. Highly recommended and reasonable. We got a discount for staying 5 nights from Easter Monday after the busy weekend.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank wendie1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi wendie1935,

Thanks for your time to write the great review for us on Tripadvisor and Facebook. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Our lodge aims to provide a unique experience and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge in the future.

Warm Regards,
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Absolutely wonderful stay, fantastic room and stunning view despite the weather limiting visibility. Only one night but would definitely return (to experience the thermal pool as we didn't have swimwear). Felt very welcomed and everything was explained (access, facilities, etc.) Highly recommend, thank you!

Room Tip: Pick the full view, it's worth it whether ground or upper level.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank justinedillonjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi justinedillonjd,

Thank you for choosing our lodge, and for taking time to write a review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and our facilities. Our lodge aims to provide a quality service to the guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge in the near future.

Warm regards,
LI LI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Had a nice stay here recently. Side view of lake on small balcony. Was fun feeding the ducks and great that the accommodation is on the lakefront (no crossing busy highway). Carpark is a bit of a squeeze but not a main issue.
If ever we're back in Taupo (love the place), we'll try to get one of the front rooms with direct views of the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monteforae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Monteforae,

Thanks for your time to write review for us. I am so pleased that you had a enjoyable time with us. I wish you all the best. Looking forward to seeing you again while you are next time in Taupo.

Regards,
LI Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Turned up after having booked somewhere else and being disappointed by where we had booked, we walked in off the street to this lovely motel. Asked to see a Studio Beachfront Room. Ended up being upgraded to a lovely apartment with views over the Lake. Spa bath in room and plenty of space to relax in the lounge. Lovely little balcony and unlimited WIFI. Clean and tidy. Would happily stay again. Owner is just lovely and very friendly. Well done.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view of the Lake
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Star B,

I am appreciated your time to write the great review for us. Thanks for staying with us. I glad that you enjoyed our location and facilities.
We wish you all the best. Looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Li Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Terrific and helpful staff, clean room, all you need and great location. The kids loved the spa in the main room. The location was amazing with the direct access to the lake. We really enjoyed the quiet of the apartments also.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Ingaross,
Thanks for your time to write review for us. We appreciated that your family had a enjoyable time with us. You are right, It's nice spot to see and access to the lake. I am looking forward to see you and your family again in the near future. All best wishes.

Regards,
LI LI Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews