We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.46*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with...
Ranked #15 of 118 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous traditional Maori welcome and cultural concert which the children loved too, good short walks around the geothermal valley

Thank mooreinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora,

Thank you for the lovely comments, glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at Te Puia.
Our Maori culture is something we pride ourselves on, and we are pleased to have shared that with you

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kiwi house"
in 257 reviews
"guided tour"
in 389 reviews
"mud pools"
in 395 reviews
"pohutu geyser"
in 223 reviews
"maori culture"
in 688 reviews
"carving school"
in 72 reviews
"wood carving and weaving"
in 45 reviews
"kiwi bird"
in 159 reviews
"main geyser"
in 44 reviews
"evening experience"
in 66 reviews
"day pass"
in 62 reviews
"southern hemisphere"
in 39 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 159 reviews
"new zealand"
in 240 reviews
"meeting house"
in 61 reviews
"gift shop"
in 114 reviews
"audience participation"
in 56 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 4,393 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rotorua is on a volcano table and famous for its gysers, These gysers are supposed to medicated and treat arthrities.

Thank radhadyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora

Our landscape truly is something else, the mud pools geysers and steaming vents all add to the Valley along with the Native birds and Trees plus the Maori culture! its really an experience you should not miss.

Thanks again for your lovely comment, we hope to see you again

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to go with some amazing geysers to see, along with bubbling mud pools and hot springs. We were part of an organised tour and got a guided visit. Oh my it was boring! It was so hot standing in the baking heat but the guide didnt once take our discomfort into account. A very nice lady but we had to bunk off after an hour and a half and go and get some shelter and a drink.
Avoid the kiwi house at all costs - the queues are a mile long and we never saw the thing at all - think they could have been having us on.

Thank HellholesLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora

Our landscape truly is something else, the mud pools geysers and steaming vents all add to the Valley along with the Native birds and Trees plus the Maori culture! its really an experience you should not miss.

We are disappointed to see you didn't enjoy your guided tour, as we do take a lot of pride in perfecting the execution of these tours. Please feel free to email us should you have any further concerns: customerfeedback@tepuia.com

Thanks again for comments, we hope to see you again

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The greeting ceremony was great, but you would not want to upset these guys!. The following native show was good, audience participation inevitable!. The Maori singing is a strain to the aural senses!. The traditional Maori meal afterwards was superb, and the visit to the hot springs after dinner was fun. All together a good evening out.

Thank shjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora,

We are pleased to hear you loved your visit to Te Puia with our Te Po combo experience. It is definitely a once in a life time experience for some where they can experience all there is to offer and know about our Maori culture through our informative guided tours and wonderful cultural performance.

Where you can witness first hand our traditionally prepared buffet and enjoy a hot cup of rich hot chocolate on our geothermal warmed 'Hot Rocks' as you watch the wonders of our Pohutu geyser erupting into the night sky.

We thank you for your amazing review and we hope to see more of your friends and family the next time you visit Te Puia.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this place: the one hour and a half walking tour was simply amazing, the geisers, the mud pools, the kiwis, the schools, the gift shop... I would rate it 4 stars because the cashier at the gift shop could do with a better attitude when dealing with customers... but it would be unfair for the rest of the people that work there

Thank Jime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora!

Glad to hear you enjoyed our valley and all we have to offer here! This type of feedback is good as it lets us know, we are still on track and heading to where we want to be when it comes to customer satisfaction. We apologise for the experience in the gift store, please feel free to email us at customerfeedback@tepuia.com. .

We hope to see you again

Ngā Mihi and Safe Travels
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing