We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting randomly”

The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #24 of 232 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

What a great day in the bay city of napier and too many places for great food and wine.

Drove around aimlessly for 15 minutes before we settled on the gintrap around the bayside.

That was the single best decision of the day!

A bottle of lake Hayes pinot gris to start the visit followed by these great potato skins.

My partner and I had the pork fillet and i had the squid small with a side dish to complete the meal.

Some of the best food ive had 4 a long time!

Great food, great service greatttttt place.

Cant wait to return

Ps desserts just arrived!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank allfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We wanted to eat at W Quay during our stay in Napier and after looking at a few menu boards along the quay we settled on The Gintrap.
We weren't disappointed , great friendly efficient service with attention to detail on a dietary request and beautiful food.
We chose fish and chips and the confit duck spring rolls with a green salad....simple food done beautifully. A delicious desert to complete our meal - Lemon Polenta Cake.
This is a great place to eat looking over the quay, boats and kids in sail boats and the quiet buzz of the quay area.
No gin for us today but a wonderful bar awaits for those with a passion.
Would not hesitate to recommend The Gintrap for those visiting Napier.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel D, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review Heather. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Our waiter was awesome (young dark haired guy flamboyant) very friendly and prompt with service and nothing was a bother.
Food was good, our table had no complaints. Loved potato skins on the menu and I loved the Korean chicken starter. Atmosphere was cosy and the rugby was on so it was pretty packed but we were in the back room so it was a bit quieter besides the hens night going on.
Love the old photos of Napier and surroundings on the walls.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank RoseC3084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Great place to watch the RUGBY and have a meal. Nice and cosy inside. My husband and I decided to share the fish platter. Unfortunately it was rather average. The prawn toast is weird and the salmon wasnt great especially alongside the marinated raw fish in the same dish. STAFF and service were great but we would like to go back and try something else on the menu to be fair

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1811027Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

There's a range of options along the Quay - we are very happy to lunch here, out on the deck in the sun watching the coming and going from the marina. There's an excellent range of food options available, and great craft beer on tap. They have the usual big screen TVs inside for sports, but why would you bother on a sunny day? Recommend it for those wanting a relaxed lunch.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing