We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
ZenHotels.com
US$91
View deal
Destinia.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Agoda.comUS$75
StayForLong
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
422
262
131
51
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
422
262
131
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen st car park small room comfortable bed bus stop sky tower auckland microwave skybus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2019

I've stayed at the VR hotel many times when travelling through Auckland. The staff are a great team and always friendly and helpful.
The rooms are always well presented and clean. Great food in the restaurant too, and I've never been disappointed with the service by the lovely staff, Inca, Sara, Candy and Bianca, who work there.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Markssmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2019

The first thing that greets you at the QR hotel is the brightly coloured thick pile carpet at the door. Once inside the hotel is more sedate. We stayed at this hotel twice on our NZ tour and the receptionist was the same person all the time!

The rooms are described as suites. As such they are bedrooms with a small kitchen down one side; not what I would call a suite. The overall room was quite small, with us having difficulty to open two cases simultaneously.

The walls are very thin and adjacent room occupants can easily be heard. The breakfasts are quite low-key, but they offer an adequate selection of hot and cold food in the buffet. On one evening the restaurant was closed as they had a large party booking from a tour company. Not a major issue as there are many restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel is on Queen St, about a 15-20 minute walk into town. There is an underground carpark if you have a car.

I have to score an average as very good overstates my experience.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyrano-Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Your pertinent feedback has been noted for improvement.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

Loved the stay. Was happy with the service especially the bathroom in the room.Excellent !! From the friendly and professional Front Desk to the smallest details in the room.
highest level of service which is paying attention to the smallest details.Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vironika0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear Vironika,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend to be with friends in Auckland. Short stay but very comfortable beds and shower pressure. Room was clean and filled with a lot of ammenities if someone is staying there for a few days. Staff is friendly and helpful. Front office staff was very efficient and promptly answered all the questions about nearby places to see and food was great. Best breakfast had in a long time and the restaurant staff were very nice. Will stay here on my next trip to Auckland and will recommend it to my friends to come here on their next visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kay0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Really happy with our stay at VR, room was very comfortable (great bed!) and location was perfect. Only 15 minute walk to the Sky Tower. Staff v helpful too. It’s basic hence the four stars but would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 355SarahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Dear Sarah,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that. Good to note that you liked our location and the beds in the room.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping and front office staff.
I hope your trip back home was fine.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews