We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$150
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$51
US$40
Trip.com
View Deal
City Lodge(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Savings alert! 13% below average rates

    The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$56/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$157
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$115
    US$108
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Savings alert! 13% below average rates

    The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
    US$46
    US$36
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    YMCA Hostel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
    US$46
    US$45
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Reviews (1,234)
    Filter reviews
    1,234 results
    Traveler rating
    251
    449
    306
    111
    117
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    251
    449
    306
    111
    117
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswashing machinesky towertwo bedroom apartmentcomplimentary breakfastself containedqueen streetauckland citycooking facilitiesfull kitchenwasherkitchenetteharbourovenstovelaundryconveniencemotorway
    Filter
    Updating list...
    161 - 166 of 1,234 reviews
    Reviewed 5 January 2017

    The hotel is fairly centrally located which is why we had booked it. However, they have a concept of a cold breakfast which they deliver the night before - which is exactly the same everyday !
    The internet does not work at all, asking for extra blankets/working hairdryer can drive you absolutely insane. Only stay at the hotel if you have nowhere else to go !!

    Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    Thank Anahita A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

    Dear Anahita,

    Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

    It is disappointed to know that the standard of house keeping and customer service was less than top notch. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team.
    We have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.
    Further to your concerns regarding the free wifi, it is disappointing to hear that our service did not work as it should have.Perhaps there may have been a weak signal in the room you were staying in.

    Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and we do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

    Kind regards,
    Auckland City Oaks!!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 5 January 2017

    The first thing I have to mention is the name of this place, as trying to find it is confusing. I say that because there is a hotel right across the road called Auckland City Hotel. Whilst this place is called Auckland City Oaks, nowhere on the building, the doors or signage is the word "oaks" or a picture of an Oak Tree to distinguish it from the place across the road.

    Once we found the place, we tried to check in but were asked by reception to take a copy of our passports - not just to sight our identification to make sure we were the people who booked the room, but to take a physical photocopy. We'd never been asked that before in any of the many countries we'd travelled over the years nor anywhere else in NZ - mostly because its it's a big no-no for people to give their passports to anyone but immigration and border patrol when entering/departing a country. They were happy to take a copy of our Australian Driver Licenses we luckily had on hand. Things got off to a bad start but it couldn't get any worse right? Wrong!

    Their website says they have offstreet parking. They do, but you have to ask at the time of booking a room to also book a carspace. We didn't know we had to ask when we booked and the receptionist told us that they don't ask people if they need a carspace when a booking is made either, so unless you'd stayed here before, you wouldn't know to ask for a carspace when you book. Doesn't really make sense to me why they do that. It could only lead to unhappy first time customers - as was our case.

    Anyway, we were lucky enough to get the last available carspace. When we checked out the following morning, we handed our key to reception who only then asked us to pay our $25 bill - we said what bill? That'd be the $25/night for a carspace we weren't told about if you need a carspace. Not happy!

    Aside from the admin issues we had, the rooms we stayed in were excellent. Full service 2 bedroom apartments - all your standard hotel offerings (kettle, toaster, microwave, tea & coffee etc) but also a full size fridge, a stove and a washing machine.

    Now we know the ...... unique admin aspects of this hotel, we know what to do/ask for in the future. We'd be happy to stay here again.

    Room Tip: Carpark required? Make sure to book a carspace when making a room booking!!
    • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kracker_1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. We have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
    Further to your concerns, we would like to advise you that our hotel has limited spaces available at the car park and it is chargeable .We advise our guests to pre-book car park spaces while booking their accommodation. This information is also available on our hotel website, online portals, guest itinerary emails and confirmation emails. When we are completely booked and the guest need to park their cars somewhere close to the hotel, we do recommend them other alternatives which are quite convenient.

    Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and we do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    Not happy with the hotel at all.
    A view room was promised but gave another room which is still Ok - compromised.
    But the smell inside the room is not good at all.
    Avoid it even though the location of the hotel is nice.

    • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank va1031
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    Stayed here for two nights - New Years Eve and next day. Tiles are cracked in the kitchen, large stains on carpet in hallway, towels were grey, fraying and threadbare. Continental Breakfast consisted of 4 apples, horrible mango juice in tetra packs and egg sandwiches wrapped in plastic. At $890 for 4 people for 2 nights - this is disgusting.

    • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Travelbud9330
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017


    Dear Travelbud9330,

    Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our property standards – we invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span. We have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.

    Further to your concerns regarding the breakfast, we do not have an onsite restaurant; hence we offer a complimentary breakfast pack in our apartments. This is a quick start values add for our guest and appreciated by many travellers who stay with us. Our apartments are well equipped with full kitchen facilities which is helpful for the guest to cook their own meal.
    Once again please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.




    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    Rooms very clean a bit small but great for short term stay.
    Great location in the middle of Auckland on Hobson Street, a short walk into Queen Street.
    The hotel has had a name change to VR Hotel same address 188 Hobson St

    • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank JakesPerthWA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews