We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:What a shocker"”
Review of Bird on a Wire

Bird on a Wire
Reserve a table
Ranked #378 of 2,229 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WOW what a shocker this was, went for breakfast Sunday 11 April 12.30pm at the Commercial bay cafe How can you scramble an egg so badly? I say an egg because thats all I got!! The menu states "Scrambled eggs" 1 measly egg cooked till it was literally rubber, I can deal with that I was hungry but the stale sourdough was soaking in rancid butter which is unacceptable and points to the fact that the butter would have to have been unrefrigerated and left for days. "Alan" the manager seemed unconcerned although did offer an additional egg. I did not touch the food after smelling and tasting the butter... the least a good cafe would do is to offer a refund but sadly no, so a plate of stale bread with a rubbery egg was left uneaten. We will never return to this slop-house and suggest neither do you... it really irks me to pay money for food that is poorly cooked and past its use by date. There are plenty of options in commercial bay for great food this is not one of them this place should be closed down. NO STARS ...Seriously just do not go!! look at the poor reviews

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boldcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

Breakfast
The service was great
Food was amazing
Bonus they have all the alternative milks
Best tasty iced coconut latte
Food came fast
Good serving size
Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AmeliavdBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2020

Cafe style eatery with very small lunch bowls and limited menu. Flavors were good and the food was fresh.

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank AskDrN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

I wasted one entire meal here so won’t waste anymore time but felt compelled to warn other poor suspecting diners that the salad selection I had was the most disgusting mulch of tasteless frozen supermarket packet cheap rubbish salad I’ve ever been served, and that’s saying something. Oh god, it’s coming back to me writing this. Admittedly it’s a chicken place, but really? Avoid at any cost!!!!

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank DominicAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

Had breakfast at Westfield Newmarket on a recent holiday. Something on menu for everyone and very reasonably prices. Lovely environment, friendly, helpful staff. Would love to go back for lunch as menu looked great.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank victoriabO2792YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird on a Wire also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Bird on a Wire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.