We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Auckland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveler rating
883
1,034
322
102
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
1,034
322
102
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towergreat locationchocolate fountainvalet parkingqueen streetnew zealandfree wifibuffet breakfastcentral locationharbour bridgenice roomhotel restaurantmini barinner citycomfortable staylate checkcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As someone who is frequently in Auckland it is my preference to stay at Rydges. The team is always extremely helpful and great to work with. The rooms are always in fantastic condition and there is a good range of facilities available. Highly recommended for a stay in Auckland.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelmolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you michaelmolony for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly appreciate the kind comments and 5 out of 5 review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We started a tour of New Zealand from this hotel. We stayed 3 nights prior to heading north to Bay of Islands and returned for another 1 night for the journey south. Rooms for both stays were fine, the meals delicious. Hotel is situated close to shopping, Sky Tower, and the quayside.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Patricia L for taking the time to share your experience, the team and I truly appreciate your feedback. We hope you have a great tour of New Zealand and no plan to come back and see the parts you perhaps missed ? We wish you safe travels home, Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a conference. The location was convenient and an easy walk to the harbour. The big disappointment were the rooms. Don't be fooled (as I was) by the term superior room - these are basic and standard rooms. The images on the site are also misleading. The rooms are small with high windows that you need to be 7 foot tall to see out. This creates a box and claustrophobic effect - unbearable. The site images show large and airy windows. I exchanged my room and was given one that looked onto a wall.
The staff were charming and very helpful and apologetic.
The restuarant had some interesting dishes but quite pricey for a dinner it costed me $60.
They had a green option for no housekeeping - a good idea for a short stay.
Also be aware you only earn points in their locality program if you book through their site!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Kaye50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Kaye50 for taking the time to share your experience, it was a pleasure to connect with you offline and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. For the benefit of other T/A travellers our PGR loyalty programme is such that you can only earn points when you book either directly to the hotel or through rydges.com and not the various online Travel Agent Channels. Kind regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel having arrived from the UK.

The location is fine, but if you are looking for good views, you will be disappointed as its surrounded by apartments a high-rise buildings.

The room was fine and the breakfast were good.

The staff were friendly.

If you are catching a cruise from here, book a taxi at least 1 hour before you want to arrive as the traffic is horrendous.

You can walk to the terminal in 15 minutes, but not with heavy cases.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNS436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you RNS436 for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly appreciate your feedback and we hope you had a great cruise around our beautiful country. We wish you a safe trip home and with any luck we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

awesome place to stay, wonderful location, friendly staff and most of all the bed was so comfortable and the pillows were so nice and fluffy I had no problem falling asleep. no noise from outside. everything was so wonderful. The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful as well.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zakiyaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you zakiyaali for your kind comments, the team and I truly appreciate the 5 out of 5 review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews