We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak sandwich”

The Karalee On Preston
Ranked #86 of 1,485 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Karalee is a great place to catch up with family and friends, host your next function or follow live sports on our big screens. We are proud to have won Best Casual Dining Pub (AHA WA Awards, Metropolitan 2016) and you’d be silly not to come and try our award winning steak sandwich (AHA WA Awards, Metropolitan winner 2014, 2017 and also finalists in 2015 and 2016). The Karalee was established in 1975 and means “waterhole” in the language of Australia’s indigenous people. The Karalee is true to its name as a popular meeting place for locals and visitors alike (shout out to our regulars from country WA!). We pride ourselves on our relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, great food and drinks and above all, genuine and friendly customer service. We look forward to seeing you at The Karalee soon!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went along to try out the steak sandwich...came out looking like a skyscraper...Went back looking like a skyscraper...not in sandwich toast so how can you call it a sandwich..full of so much crap to make it look impressive but nothing worth eating I had the steak and half of the Turkish bread...can't beat simple options .like egg and onions..that's my opinion...wouldn't ever consider another one

Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel M, Manager at The Karalee On Preston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi David,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your feedback.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not impressed by our steak sandwich and hope you will return to give us another try.

Please let us know how you would like your sandwich when you are here and we are more than happy to oblige.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Great local aussie pub with top class food. Brilliant for a nice sunny day, in a relaxed atmosphere away from town. Excellent food (chicken parmi, say no more) and a great place to chill out over a few pints. Cant fault it.

Thank BenHall2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel M, Manager at The Karalee On Preston, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Hi Ben,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We love the sunny days here at the Karalee, and we love to hear our customers are loving it too.

Cheers,

Carmel
Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Celebrated my mother’s birthday here yesterday. The views from the dining area and bar is sensational across the river. We enjoyed a variety of dishes from the menu and they were lovely and a very high standard well above normal “pub food” The service is very professional and friendly and they really added to our experience. Can recommend this one, suggest booking to ensure a seat. Didn’t have the steak sandwich this time but these guys won the best in WA 2017 and it’s a ripper.

Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We came here for a birthday lunch and were really pleased. The service is excellent and the food is very good. We had brought a birthday cake and the staff refrigerated it and later brought it out with candles and plates and forks. They were all happy, smiling and very obliging.
We had a young child who was catered for very well. We have a vegetarian, a "sort of" vegan and 2 big eat eaters who were all very satisfied with their choices.
Parking is excellent.
It was reasonably crowded but not noisy on the day we visited. Toilets were very clean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Ok it is a pub - not a high class restaurant -Not a place for a romantic evening but if you don't mind lots of people and lots of noise a good feed at a reasonable price then this is worth a visit. The seating is comfortable (my mother in law has a bad back and she was happy with the chairs), the food portions are a good size and the meals tasty and the staff are helpful and friendly

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John and Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Karalee On Preston also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Karalee On Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing