We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Zanders

Zanders
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Broome
Price range: US$15 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very delish Thai Beef salad with a refreshing Mojito - totally recommend this venue. We had excellent service from the moment we walked in and the food was divine!

Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile


* The booking that we made 3 months in advance was overlooked,
* we were placed on a table next to doors that had been replaced by Perspex, so it was sweltering to sit at our table, so much so that one member of our table had to stand outside and talk to us threw one of the open doors,
* Despite booking 3 months in advance so that we could have a table that was at the front of the restaurant and close to the play ground, our table was at the opposite side of the restaurant to the playground, therefore to supervise our son one member of our party had to leave the group
* we had to wait over 1/2hr and ask more than twice to be brought a high chair,
* we waited over half an hour for our first (and then subsequent) drinks order to be taken, the members of our group were forced to order two drinks at a time due to the long waits,
* it took over an hour to order our food,
* it took over 2hrs (almost 3hrs) for us to receive our food,
* the menu item that I had specifically chosen to attend Zander’s for was not available last night,
* I asked about the ingredients in the next dish that I was going to order due to a food allergy and the waitress argued with me and told me that she could not ask the kitchen staff if the ingredient was present, regardless of my allergy and that I needed to pick another dish (which I also would have needed to know about the presence of the allergen),
* My best and only real option was to order the truffle mash (which was tasteless and dry) and the sautéed vegetables (which were a bowl of mush) so I ended up eating my father’s bowl of chips with sauce,
* my son ordered the kids chicken and chips, my son refused to eat the chicken, so my mother and husband tried it and both said it tasted disgusting and was not appropriate for a child’s meal,
* my mother had the bucket of prawns and her prawns were dry,
* we assume that the prices were higher than on the menu due to the public holiday, however this was not once conveyed to us
* when we arrived at the restaurant it was not overly busy and many people that arrived after us were served before.

I contacted Zander’s about our experience and was offered a $50 voucher to make up for our $300+ awful meal and service. I don’t think we would waste another 3hrs if our time using the voucher though.

Thank Keni_Burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve e, General Manager at Zanders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your not so flattering review, Im sorry that, it seems nothing was right.
I would, however like to point out that most of your gripes are incorrect or inaccurate.
Firstly if you wait until you have left the restaurant before you have the courage to complain, we can rarely fix the problem as you are already gone. On this occasion we have offered you a gift voucher but you kindly declined via social media and we are yet to have a response via email. Obviously this is your preferable way of communication.
Your table of 8 was made and waiting for you at the front of the restaurant (where you were seated), The perspex windows were a result of storm damage, and believe me I dont like them either. As i hope most understand there is not a lot we can do other than go through the insurance motions and get them fixed as soon as possible. There was no mention about being close to the playground but i can assure you had you mentioned it we could have accommodated your request. Your suggested wait times are completely false, I have no problems accepting legitimate complaints but this is complete slander and i have to say it like it is,
You say you booked 3 months ago, and the meal that you booked for was unavailable, Zanders started our new menu the day you came in and the ravioli was unavailable for the first day due to some ingredients for the dish missing the truck but was on Saturday when it all arrived. On each page of the menu and drinks list and a sign at the front till there are notices for the public holiday surcharge, im sorry if you missed them all but its fairly common practice. I hope you have a more positive experience the next time you venture out. What i would ask is , that if you communicate face to face it is a lot easier to get things sorted so you dont get wound up and start looking for problems.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We set the four children off on the camels as we had done the ride on a previous trip to Broome. Bought a couple of beers and set back to enjoy the sunset.
Great ambiance, fantastic staff (chatted to a lovely young Fijian man on his very first work shift who looked and acted most professional). Great sunset and very easy to access from car park and camel

    • Service
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We went to Zanders on two nights in March . First night was excellent but second night not so good as they had staffing issues . This is common in Broome in the off season .

Thank Docker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Does have a view of Cable Beach, but breakfast was pretty standard fare. Coffee not the best. Not the cleanest establishment.

Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanders also viewed

 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Zanders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing