We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeannette Bartlett”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 28/02
20:00
Ranked #51 of 5,000 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Description: This iconic Italian restaurant was established in 1980. Inspired by traditional Italian home style cooking, Piccolo Mondo offers a delicious range of home made pasta, freshly caught seafood, a great selection of steaks, chicken and veal. Piccolo Mondo also offers a large variety of vegetarian, gluten free and vegan options. An upstairs function room is available for any occasion and balcony overlooking busy Lygon Street. Piccolo Mondo will not disappoint.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very enjoyable lunch celebrating the best of Italian cuisine Most enjoyable! Thank you Piccolo Mondo for your friendly service. To Maddie and team, keep up the good work. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank jeanettebF8895BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Balcony setting looked nice and on being enticed with complimentary wine we were shown to our table. The now renown woman left us and returned to the street. 10 minutes later I asked for service so she blasted the waiter who was arranging tables on the footpath. He left menus, no water, consulted the woman about the drinks, she came over and asked us what we were ordering... it seems a free drink is with 2 main courses only! I questioned her offer to us and she started to argue loudly. We simply stood up and left! In summary intimidating, rude, poor service, couldn’t care less. She’s $60 down!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank petergQ4943ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I expected more from this restaurant based on its rating. The food is OK but very average Italian. Serving sizes are generous.

We had booked but the owner was touting out the front and attempted to drag us in before we had a chance to tell him. He was more interested in returning to touting than making us feel welcome. He wasn't even sure of the brand of his house wine.

The meal was home style but not cheap. We wouldn't return or recommend this restaurant. There are many Italian restaurants in Carlton and you can do better than this one.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2021

The restaurant boss must have forgotten that although she is the boss of the restaurant, the patrons are the real contributors of revenue for the restaurant. Also it is the worst offence to force patrons to give tups to the waiters. That is what she tried to do on the night.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Came all the way from sale and wanted same dinner it was amazing food and amazing customer service would 100% recommend.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank dakotar743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.