We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2016

My family and I recently stayed in a River View room. The room was large and spacious and easily accommodated an extra pull out bed for our 6yr old (I thought the price for this was steep, AU$55 per night!) We paid for the Bed and Breakfast rate and each morning and found plenty of options to make sure there was variety with what we were eating.

The hotel is right on the water front. Very close to the Rail and Tram systems and within easy walking distance of lots of things. I felt that you couldn't really beat it on that. Right outside there are also lots of restaurants and bars. It meant that dinner time was quick and easy each night and there were plenty of options for us to choose from.

The room itself was large. Extra towels as there was 3 of us, a large bathroom with shower and separate bath tub and most importantly clean and well maintained. We were also given lots of complementary bottles of water each day and also in the evening. Great for taking out with us for the day, but not sure how environmentally friendly it is. The river view (we were on floor 15) was good too. It was nice to be able to see the world go by. In the evenings you could hear noise from the bars and restaurants outside. Nothing much and it didn't bother us, but if you were an exceptionally light sleeper, it may be something to consider.

We used the gym and everything was in good working order. The pool and hot tub/spa pool was lovely too. Warm (important in the winter) and quiet. A hit with our little one.

The staff were all polite and accommodating and overall it lived up to its 5 star reputation.
When we return to Melbourne, we will definitely be looking to book here again.

Room Tip: River views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeCbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Langham Melbourne on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with your family. We certainly appreciate your detailed and positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated our location, your guestroom and you enjoyed breakfast in Melba, with all that is on offer with our interactive kitchens, including ice cream and the chocolate fountain, even during breakfast. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the pool and Jacuzzi during your visit and pleased your child especially enjoyed both. You can trust us to ensure any future visits will be just as seamless and memorable. For a truly personalised experience, with unique tailored offers with your favourite inclusions we recommend to book directly with our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back next time you are in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,529 of 5,970 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2016

This place couldn't be better, amazing service, food and rooms. Breakfast buffet a must, the spa is to die for. The view are incredible. All the porters are very helpful. Its close to everything. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Langham Hospitality Group
Thank Tracey-Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Everything about our experience, from the moment we made our booking (with one tiny exception as we were checking out) was simply amazing!

I mentioned in my booking that this would be a mother & daughter weekend away and on our arrival, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne (on ice!) and a block of chocolate with a hand-written note from Jonathan (the guest relations manager) to wish us an enjoyable mother & daughter weekend! It was totally unexpected and so much appreciated! We were blown away!

The hotel is gorgeous! The foyer and stairs leading up to the lobby is beautiful and a huge table was covered in vases with all kinds of flowers, filling the air with a lovely aroma! We didn't know where to look - everything was amazing!

When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by a doorman – complete with proper attire and white gloves! Very nice touch! However, there wasn't anyone to assist with our luggage and not a luggage trolley either, so we had to carry it up the stairs to the main lobby ourselves. Only once we checked in, were we asked if we needed help getting the bags to our room. This was not a big deal, but for this “grand” a hotel, you'd expect someone ready at the entrance to assist arriving guests with their luggage.

Our room on the 20th floor, had gorgeous views over the river and the city. Being that high up, we could leave our curtains open the whole time and every morning we woke to a beautiful sunrise – even had hot air balloons floating by one morning! It was really worth the extra cost for a grand river room!

The room itself was luxurious, very spacious, with everything you could possibly need; slippers, gowns, shoe horn, clothes brush, toothbrush, nail file, comb, even talcum powder... and all the usual amenities plus more! The huge king size bed was A M A Z I N G! It felt like sleeping on a cloud! And the pillows..... oh my word! The towels were huge, thick and fluffy and replaced every day. Everything was spotless - not a speck of dust anywhere - and the room was made up every day - even the bath and shower was cleaned to a shine! It was like walking into a brand new hotel room every day!

The Wi-Fi was free and quite good - not super fast, but good enough for basic stuff like Email, Google, social media etc. Maybe being on the 20th floor affected our signal as sometimes it would dip out or slow down. Not a big thing and didn’t bother us at all.

Because of our late arrival, we ordered room service our first evening and it was delivered on a huge food trolley with a built-in hot box to keep our food warm, flowers on the table, condiments in tiny little jars, a glass of still water with a slice of lemon and silver cutlery all on a crispy clean white linen table cloth.

Breakfast was amazing! So much to choose from in a lovely breakfast room with gorgeous views over the river. Everything was so fresh and tasted so good! We couldn't even get to a quarter of what was on offer - it was simply too much. The HUGE chocolate fountain, with milk and white chocolate was just the biggest treat! Best cheese omelet I've had in a long time! The wait staff were all very attentive, professional and on their game. Couldn’t fault a thing!

There were so many little things which made our stay so special; Our choice of newspaper was delivered to our room every morning and two bottles of water every evening, a knock on the door in the evening to make sure we didn't need anything else for the night, the way the staff would acknowledge us in passing, the respectful & professional way in which we were addressed... Too many things to mention!

The only smallest thing I could fault was our checkout. We arranged a late checkout for 1pm but in the morning after breakfast, we went to reception to discuss our options as we thought we may not be back in time for 1pm. The guy at reception said we could simply leave our bags (packed) in our room and if we’re not back by 1pm, they'll bring it down and put it in storage for us. We arrived back at the hotel at 2pm, ready to get our bags and depart for the airport. We approached the reception staff to ask if there were toilets near the lobby (at this point we were still not checked out and had our room key cards still on us). As we exited the toilets, a lady in a pink suit approached us and asked in a very abrupt manner if she could help us with anything (which was a bit odd as we were guests at the hotel). We felt a bit taken aback by the way she almost treated us like we were someone who simply walked off the street to use the toilets. As I started to explain to her that we were about to check out, she grabbed our key cards and told us to get our bags downstairs. As we were going down to the luggage room, we were both looking at each other and thinking the same thing: that was just rude and uncalled for. I decided to go back to her and ask her why she approached & addressed us in such a manner and she responded that it was her job to help guests and that she did not mean anything by it. Yes, it was possibly well intended and just a simple misunderstanding, but we both felt the same way and after all, we were guests of the hotel until we step outside that door for the last time and should be treated as such. We were basically waved off to get our own luggage and go home (which, by the way, was NOT in the luggage room, and after a long search and a number of phone calls, were discovered to be still in our room!) It just left a bit of a sour taste…

All up, this was an unforgettable experience and we appreciate all the little things which made our weekend very special. We felt a little bit like royalty!...

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Travel_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

My wife & I stayed at The Langham for 2 nights in July, in a Club King room, overlooking the Yarra River. We often stay at the Langham, just as a treat and it never disappoints - hence we keep returning. We were graciously upgraded to a room overlooking the Yarra, so that added to the treat. We had breakfast on both mornings in the Club Lounge. It was extremely enjoyable. The hotel location is walking distance to everything you need.
Staff, as always, were welcoming, efficient and helpful in all our dealings. We can never fault them!
We look forward to our next treat at the Langham.

Room Tip: All the King rooms are more than adequate. If you can afford the Club Lounge, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pioneer123Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to offer your post on Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate your detailed comments. I am happy to hear that you and your wife had a pleasant stay with us and you appreciated the room upgrade on this occasion. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your Club Guestroom with access to our Club Lounge situated on the 24th Floor, offering daily Breakfast, Afternoon Tea as well as Cocktails and Canapés each evening and you appreciated the service you received from each colleague you came in contact with. We are delighted that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Once again The Langham has met our expectations. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff are friendly and helpful and work around you, but acknowledge your presence.
The beds are so comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud!
The Langham is in the most fantastic position. Very handy to be able to walk everywhere we needed to go.
We will be back!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Roslyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,478 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,917 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
8,614 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₱10,202 - ₱27,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing