We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$132
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveler rating
783
301
83
34
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
301
83
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barapple tvfree happy hourlolly barfree wififree lollyrestocked dailystudio suitegreat locationfunky hotelprincess theatrecoffee machinethought of everythingbourke streetbathroom sinklittle extrasbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Perhaps it was an aberration considering all of the good reviews, but we did not have a great experience at Ovolo Laneways.

On the strength of the great reviews on TA, we booked (via a boutique third party website) for a 1 Bedroom suite. We were in Melbourne to celebrate a significant milestone anniversary for 3 nights, and we had high hopes. On arrival, we were put in a room with a ?queen bed? elevated on a platform. I fretted about the fall risk all night for both of us in an unfamiliar place. And every time my husband rolled over, the bed swayed and rocked. Eek! I lay awake wondering how I could have booked such a room.... and then realised that I actually hadn’t!!

Lying awake on the swaying bed, I remembered that an online reviewer had mentioned that the 1 BR suite had a door between the bed location and the loungeroom; and our bed on its platform was all in the same room space as the lounge. I got out my phone in the dark and went back to the online reviews.... yes, we were in a lower category room than I had booked (and paid) for.

So after the first night we went to the front desk and asked to check what kind of room we had been allocated. They said studio. I said it should be 1 BR suite. At first they disagreed, but then I showed them my printed receipt for the 1 BR suite. So the front desk staff said that it was the 3rd party booking site’s fault, and we would be moved to correct accommodation.

So after a bit of too-ing and fro-ing, we were moved to a 1st floor suite overlooking Little Burke St. It was bigger, no bed on platform..... but the noise!!!!! Aaaaargh!!! The hotel is, as the name says, on a laneway. And our room fronted both the laneway and the street. From 4am it was like trying to sleep in a Waste Transfer Station. And I don’t mean above.... I mean in the midst of. The laneway is lined with commercial bins, as is that part of little Bourke St. So garbage trucks as constantly reversing, compacting, idling, revving ... hour after hour after hour. It was horrendous. And as they are large garbage trucks they automatically “beep” loudly when they reverse; and as the laneway is a long dead-end, and Little Bourke St is blocked further down, reversing seemed to be the only movement the trucks were capable of! It was awful.

So after that 2nd night, we went down to the front desk again. The staff were polite, but did not seem surprised by our complaint. I asked if the garbage noise was just on a Sunday night; they said that it was every night, but that the hotel is just starting the process of double glazing the windows of the first floor accommodation.

So we were then transferred to a 7th floor terrace apartment for our final night.... and that was lovely, quiet, and so appreciated. At last a rest!!!!

The hotel definitely has virtues. The location is good. The freebies, which may seem small fry in the scheme of things, actually do make you feel very welcomed, happy and give you a lift. There are little happy and fun messages around on random objects, (e.g blackboards, environmental shopping bags etc) that do contribute to a sense of warmth and joy. The young staff were polite, pretty professional (if not particularly warm). The ambience is good. The breakfast was appreciated.

However, we would probably not return. We followed up with the 3rd party booking service, and in the end there was no adequate resolution as to why we failed to get the accommodation that we paid for in the first instance, although the booking service insisted that the fault lay elsewhere. All round, just a pity.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank frizzbear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi frizzbear2015,

Thank you for the detailed review.
We are glad to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed our Terrace suite, location and signature freebies.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by room type error which then led to the noise issue.
We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that the issue has been investigated further and it will be prevented from reoccurring in the future.
It is our promise to go the extra mile so that we can be 100% ready for your next visit.
Please contact us directly via laneways@ovolohotels.com so that we can provide you with personalised booking service and accommodate all your requests prior to arrival.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Really great hotel, great price. Chose here because we like the Ovolo 1888 in Darling Harbour Sydney.

Breakfast was free and had a great area where you could sit on a balcony outside and enjoy a view of Melbourne. Lots of selection for food, plus Nespresso machine, and juices in the fridge. I definitely got fat off the ham & cheese croissants!

Free happy hour drinks.

Free mini bar that they restock daily. With Peroni beer!

We had a whinge about our room overlooking the alleyway where there’s a lot of noise with bins, they moved us to another room, an upgrade to a massive suite!

Staff were great. Just the right amount of friendly. Very helpful.

Hotel is in a great location. Close to our favourite bar Magic Mountain.

Wanted to stay at the QT, but glad we changed our mind and chose here.

Apologies for not getting more photos. I forgot! But the doors to the rooms all had a separate colour. Blew my feeble mind!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank airvent666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hey there airvent666,

It’s always amazing to hear our guests try other Ovolo’s around the world.

As long as you book directly, you’ll always experience the unique Ovolo freebies! Our breakfast area is underrated isn’t it? That view from our terrace is incredible. As you said, just make sure you’re not on a diet if you want to our enjoy pastries! There’s always cereal, muesli and fruit salad for those who are though.

Please let us know next time you’re in Melbourne! You’ll be happy to hear that we have already commenced double glazing our windows for those rooms on the first two floors that face Little Bourke Street. Depending when you come back, we’ll hopefully have it all completed!

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location and the staff was really nice. Bed was large and comfortable. Closet space is very limited. The main issue we had was the bathroom. The sink is very small and the shelf right above it makes it almost impossible to wash your face or brush your teeth without spilling water all over. The shower is doorless and water leaks out constantly when showering so we had to place towels all around the drain to keep it from leaking into the room.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lina333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi Lina333,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed our shiny happy team and the incredible location we are blessed to have here at Laneways.

Sincere apologies regarding the limited closet space next to the bed you enjoyed. Our lead in rooms are definitely more suited to those staying one or two nights. Please contact our amazing reception team directly on laneways@ovolohotels.com next time you’re in need of a home away from home in Melbourne. We’ll do our best to get you into one of our one bedroom suites – where you’ll have ample closet space for your shoes and clothes. You will also forgo having to tackle our lead-in room sinks, which we completely understand are tricky to navigate.

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Perfect stay. The location can't be beat - we walked everywhere. The warm, helpful staff, the 24/7 candy buffet and coffee in the lobby, the whimsical doors, fun photos and benches in the hallways, the goodie bag on arrival, the fact that you can have WHATEVER YOU WANT from the minibar for free (replaced the next morning), the lovely rooftop breakfast, comfy beds and great room design - this place has it all. Ovolo really has it going on...

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank canadianexplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hey Canadianexplorer1,

Wow! Thank you for the incredible review!

We are all about effortless living here at Ovolo and it’s always fantastic to hear our guests taking advantage of our unique concept. We are blessed to also offer a can’t miss location – as you said, it’s close to everything!

Please keep spreading the Ovolo love! Please let us know if you’re ever down south again, we’d love to welcome you back or your friends to experience what we are all about!

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Our treat after a few days in Sydney and a south pacific cruise.
We love Melbourne and love the location and intimacy of the Ovolo.
Brekky is now on the top floor and adequate for us.
Staff are helpful and delightful.
See you guys next time we’re over from Perth.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Pete B,

Thank you for the high five!
We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay once again.
It is our promise to maintain our standard and go the extra mile so that we can be 100% ready for your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Jake Yang
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews