We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak frites and service, kids, quick early meal ”
Review of Bistrot d'Orsay

Bistrot d'Orsay
Ranked #28 of 4,656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$79
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Bistrot d'Orsay has been situated in picturesque Collins Street for 20 years, in an area regarded as the ‘Paris End’. The interior is instantly evocative of the French capital with trompe l’oeil ceiling and a towering vintage French poster adorning the dining room. Dark wood paneling and soft lighting completes the picture. Lunch and dinner menus are provençal Mediterranean with French bistro classics such as bouillabaisse and crème brûlée all prepared with flair. Dishes such as seafood linguini and risotto complement the Mediterranean style. With a spectacular view of the ornate Regent Theatre directly opposite, Bistrot d’Orsay can lay claim to one of the best views of any restaurant in Melbourne. The bistro has a multi-award winning, extensive wine list with expertly chosen selections from the best international and Australian/NZ regions.
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We called and booked in super early before the dinner rush, friendly, accommodating and efficient staff. So helpful with very swift service and kind to the children. Sophisticated elegant decor and simple diverse menu. Perfect for any occasion

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sarah00sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Came here for my birthday and I can say I'm a very happy customer. The beginning to end experience was very pleasant accompanied by very high standard of food and drinks. I had the steak tartare, Coq Au Vin and pear tarte tartin while my partner had the cheese souffle, the pork as main and parfait for dessert. We are very impressed with the quality and speed in which our food was served. Fun filled and very relaxed night within a comfortable and intimate atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trinh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

After walking to several restaurants that didn’t accept reservations, the husband and I came upon Bistrot d’Orsay with an extremely kind, welcoming and professional staff. We ordered the rabbit and beef cheeks - both delicious! Authentic and tasty- merci beaucoup. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We booked the Bistro while in Melbourne for a few days. Not having been there before we didn't know what to expect but it was a wonderful evening. Beautiful food and a lovely atmosphere. Good selection of wine to go with our dinner and the service was faultless. Certainly reminded us of our times in France and we will be back later in the year when in town again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

The ambience is certainly in keeping with a French bistro. We had a table against the wall with a bench seat on the wall side, wooden chairs on the other.

Service was efficient and friendly.

The food and wine we're really pretty good and the cost is reasonable. Plenty of French dishes to choose from and we all enjoyed our meals and drinks. I just felt there was something lacking in the food. It was just not quite cooked and presented to perfection.

That said, we'll definitely go back. I guess I had hoped for more and will return with more realistic expectations.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot d'Orsay also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bistrot d'Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing