We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hostel World at Discovery Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Ranked #103 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Hostel World at Discovery Melbourne”
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Discovery Melbourne is a perfect accommodation in Melbourne if you're looking for a place to stay that is cheap, fun and friendly. It was during my first two nights at the coolest city in Australia when I stayed at the said hostel. It is located right in the heart of Melbourne making it really a great base for me to explore the city and elsewhere.

The hostel has two types of accommodations; namely, Dorm Rooms and Private Hostel Rooms. I stayed in their 8-Mixed Bed Dorm. The room was air-conditioned and has its own toilet and bath. The room was huge. It has small lockers that guests can use. But just bring your own padlock.

  • Stayed September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Dear marxtermind,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to keep our property clean, fun and friendly to everyone that wants to stay with us.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    139
    110
    87
    82
See reviews for
14
62
189
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

So i stayed here for 2 nights recently and overall would quite happily return. Being a hostel accommodation - it's clean, friendly and perfect location. Only downside was that my room on the 3rd level had no air con, however wasn't really hot weather at the time so it wasn't a minor issue.

Toilets & showers are clean, and small kitchen area. I didn't experience the disco bar below or any of the themed nights they hold as I was out and about all day and both nights.

Looking to visiting Melbourne again soon & will be staying here.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Dear UnitedKingdom44

Thank you for leaving a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!. And YES!, whenever you come back to Melbourne please come see us as we'd love to have you stay with us again!.

Happy travels!.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

The only good thing is that it is so close to the cbd. Room was dirty as and then they charged me twice and it took them nearly 2 weeks to get the money back to me. Wouldnt do it again just felt disgusting after it!! Stuff was unfriendly as well very disappointed

Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea0497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Dear Lea0497

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I apologise if you didn't enjoyed your time with us. Regarding the overcharge, I processed your refund as soon as it hit my desk. I am sorry if it took longer to come through from the bank. I'm quite dissapointed we didn't reach your expectations as that is not what Discovery melbourne is about.

Warm regards,

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2016

The hotel is friendly, very good position in the city center. The price is reasonable low, and there is breakfast which make a day starts easier. The staff there are friendly and there are lot of interesting things there.

Stayed March 2016, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 682xiaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2016
Dear 682xiaoj

Thank you for leaving a review.

Appreciate your comments, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Again thank you and happy travels.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2016

Stayed in 16 bed room, it was comfortable bed and easy to sleep. Nice vibe, friendly staff, good small café with nice and cheap meals, very friendly and helpful staff at the tour booking counter, in general good experience, minus for the not-working key card system. Would stay here again!

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2016
Dear rebecca667

Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne and for taking the time to leave a review.

Awesome review!. Thank you so much for your comments. Regarding the key system, it is an issue we have identified and we are aware. The cards are quite sensible to magnetism which means any sort of electronic device will make them stop. In the next months we will be upgrading our key system, changing it completely. Card will no longer be an issue.

Again, thank you for choosing us.

Happy travels.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
535 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 136 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Property: Discovery Melbourne
Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₱951 - ₱6,660
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing