We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Melbourne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jasper Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Jazz Corner Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
61
140
116
95
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
140
116
95
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tramcinemacomputerscbdheaps
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 517 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

So i stayed here for 2 nights recently and overall would quite happily return. Being a hostel accommodation - it's clean, friendly and perfect location. Only downside was that my room on the 3rd level had no air con, however wasn't really hot weather at the time so it wasn't a minor issue.

Toilets & showers are clean, and small kitchen area. I didn't experience the disco bar below or any of the themed nights they hold as I was out and about all day and both nights.

Looking to visiting Melbourne again soon & will be staying here.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank UnitedKingdom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear UnitedKingdom44

Thank you for leaving a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!. And YES!, whenever you come back to Melbourne please come see us as we'd love to have you stay with us again!.

Happy travels!.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

The only good thing is that it is so close to the cbd. Room was dirty as and then they charged me twice and it took them nearly 2 weeks to get the money back to me. Wouldnt do it again just felt disgusting after it!! Stuff was unfriendly as well very disappointed

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank Lea0497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Lea0497

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I apologise if you didn't enjoyed your time with us. Regarding the overcharge, I processed your refund as soon as it hit my desk. I am sorry if it took longer to come through from the bank. I'm quite dissapointed we didn't reach your expectations as that is not what Discovery melbourne is about.

Warm regards,

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016

The hotel is friendly, very good position in the city center. The price is reasonable low, and there is breakfast which make a day starts easier. The staff there are friendly and there are lot of interesting things there.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 682xiaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Dear 682xiaoj

Thank you for leaving a review.

Appreciate your comments, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Again thank you and happy travels.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016

Stayed in 16 bed room, it was comfortable bed and easy to sleep. Nice vibe, friendly staff, good small café with nice and cheap meals, very friendly and helpful staff at the tour booking counter, in general good experience, minus for the not-working key card system. Would stay here again!

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank rebecca667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Dear rebecca667

Thank you for choosing Discovery Melbourne and for taking the time to leave a review.

Awesome review!. Thank you so much for your comments. Regarding the key system, it is an issue we have identified and we are aware. The cards are quite sensible to magnetism which means any sort of electronic device will make them stop. In the next months we will be upgrading our key system, changing it completely. Card will no longer be an issue.

Again, thank you for choosing us.

Happy travels.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016

It was o.k. there but what made it a pleasant and enjoyable stay especially were the staff, namely Peter and Caroline. They were very helpful and very friendly. It was in a good location as well. Everything close by.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Dear craig w

Thank you so much for reviewing us. Peter and Caroline are known for been great with guests.

Again, thank you for leaving a review.

Kind regards and happy travels.

Alejandro Serritiello
Front office supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews