We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great CBD/Downtown Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Ranked #58 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Once again the Double Tree (DT) Team delivered a great experience. The location of DT is well placed to deliver excellent Melbourne experiences. I would highly recommend DT to travelers seeking a par excellence stay. Well done DT Team!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank GrahameT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear Grahame17

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your return stay with us.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Garry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2017

Positive
- friendly personnel at reception and breakfast
- location, location, location (2 minutes to Flinders Station, supermarket next door, 5 minutes to Southbank promenade, tram/train station in front of hotel, etc.)
- wifi was free (for me as a HHonors member) and fast (4,3 Mbps) – but daily re-login necessary
- comfy bed
- walk-in shower


Negative
- the rooms are just too small (like a shoebox)
- my room had only one small window, no view and no direct daylight (as maybe 80% of the rooms do not have) since there is the next building right next to it (maybe 2 meters away – you could look into the windows there – don’t know whether they can look into your room)
- the rooms to the back of the building (e.g. rooms x13 or x14) have big windows and direct daylight, but they heat up in the afternoon and there are ventilators from the building next door which make a lot of noise
- small closet, not enough space
- breakfast is ok, but since there is no change in the offerings at all, it was getting boring after a couple of days

Room Tip: see my remarks above ... unfortunately there is no "good choice available"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kacab1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear kacab1234

Thank you for completing a review following you recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and I am pleased to see for the moxt part that you enjoyed the facilities, service and location of our hotel in the heart of Melbourne.

I have noted your feedback regarding our breakfast offering and will look at what w can do to provide more variety.

Yours sincerely

Garry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

It's a great central location and the rooms have a beautiful contemporary fit-out.
What they don't tell you however is that the rooms are TINY, the bathrooms are beautiful but none of their rooms have a bath which was a problem for me travelling with a small child.
I booked a room with "Fliders Station view" but what I received was a shoebox looking at the walls of the building next door which was about 2 meters away.
They also don't tell you that this hotel has no parking and no ability to stop in front whatsoever. If you are driving you'll have to park at the nearest parking station (2-500 meter away) and you'll have to carry your bags back to the hotel.

Overall it is a clean and tastefully decorated hotel with a comfortable Hilton bed at a central location. If you are driving however or travel with children this hotel is best to be avoided.

Room Tip: If you are after a view this is not the hotel for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriae514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear valeriae514

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne.

I am pleased to see that you liked the décor and central location of our hotel in the heart of Melbourne.

Our rooms do vary in size and location with varying outlooks, so I am sorry that you were disappointed by the room that you were allocated on this occasion.

We do endeavour to inform our valued guests of our parking arrangements in advance and I apologise that you were not made aware of this prior to your arrival.

I appreciate your valued feedback and will use this constructively to see where we can improve.

Yours sincerely

Garry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

Easy to get to from the airport bus shuttle $19 (about 30 mins) including free transfer from main bus station to hotel. Really nice decor and friendly efficient check in staff. Early check in at 6am available for diamond members at $30 instead of the usual $60.... room clean and functional with safe, good wifi and nice bedding and linens. Good heating system which was not too noisy. Free water and coffee for diamond, and minibar on request. Very good hot and cold breakfast options. Very short walk to local shops for snacks and drinks.
5-10 min walk to main water side and casinos etc. They need to sort out the issue of cold air coming right through into restaurant every time the main doors open?
Overall the stay was very good, and I will return.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear AdamBilgy

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us.

As one of our valued Hilton Honors Diamond members, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Double by Hilton Melbourne when you are next planning a visit.

Kind Regards

Garry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Not the best double tree we've stayed in - but it was good enough. Location was perfect, staff were friendly and helpful, price reasonable had a safe, good wifi, kettle, fridge, effective air con and a comfy bed.
Loads of places to eat very close to hotel. Central Melbourne is quite small so it's easy to get around.
This has nothing to do with the management of this hotel, but factor it in if you're staying here ... the cost of a taxi - aud 60 each way to airport - there's a bus which would be much cheaper!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear Jinny232

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see in general that you enjoyed your stay with us and our very central location close to all that Melbourne has to offer.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne when you are next visiting.

Kind Regards

Garry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 161 in Melbourne
5,430 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₱6,300 - ₱16,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the complimentary fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing