We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$96
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
18
46
46
21
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
46
46
21
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopeast melbournestar pricesfitzroy gardensbridge roadweek staymelbourne cricket groundminute walkpublic transportbasic roomrod laver arenaamazing locationrecommend staying herecitytennislaundry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Staff were excellent, particularly the blonde lady with glasses (aplogies can't remember her name). Great location, tidy and cosy room. Wifi was a little hit and miss when we were there but everything else ticked all the boxes. Extremely close to the tram & train station and opposite from the famous MCG. Great value for money!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

The most professional, friendly and helpful reception team equal to a 5 star hotel. Building is a little 'tired' however just found out it will be demolished at the end of May. A shame as the perfect location to stay in and at a reasonable price. Thank you Michelle and also the other helpful lady in reception.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnnyUK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Great location close to sporting venues & a walk to the city across the gardens. Free parking, quiet street, laundry available, 15 minute walk to variety of restaurants in Bridge Road or at Tribeca. Bathroom dated, but perfectly functional. A block to a 7/11 & cafes for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 2 for 3 people - ground floor, looks out onto George Street.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Sad to see the end of GPA at the end of May, very good value for many years, but especially want to thank the EXCEPTIONAL staff for all their 5 star service (at 3 star prices!!), I wish them all the best in the future.
Andrew

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank morri2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Where do I begin?

You know the saying "you get what you paid for" - except, with the George Powlett Hotel, to get much less than that. Now, I wasn't expecting luxury but I've stayed in hostels charging a third of the price that are nicer than this hotel. I was greated by a pleasant, however unprofessional receptionist with an evident lack of interest in her job who sent me on my way to the most attrocious room I've ever seen.

The carpet looked like someone had ​thrown up on it and left it to soak in, only to then be vacuumed over and ground in further. It was disgusting. The room looked like it had barely had a once over clean let alone a deep clean in the past 10 years. There were multiple light globes missing and the main light flickered, the bedside tables were falling apart, the grout in the bathroom was nearly black, hair and a towel from the previous guest were left behind, and there were noticeable stains on the sheets, walls and even the chairs. To top it all off, the shower flooded and I burnt my hand trying to turn the hot water off. I don't know how they have a 3 star rating, it's no more than a 1 star worthy hotel. Over all, the only decent thing about this hotel was the hassle free conversation I had with the receptionist about getting my money back (thanks to her previously​ mentioned interest levels). Don't waste your money here, you'd be better off at a Hostel!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews