We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George Powlett Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$79
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$99
    US$93
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Free Internet
    Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$152
    US$147
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Stamford Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$162
    US$136
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$170
    US$127
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    US$179
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$142
    US$103
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Reviews (165)
    Filter reviews
    165 results
    Traveler rating
    18
    46
    46
    21
    34
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    18
    46
    46
    21
    34
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstram stoptowels changed dailybudget accommodationeast melbournestar pricesfitzroy gardensbridge roadweek staymelbourne cricket groundminute walkpublic transportbasic roomrod laver arenarecommend staying hereamazing locationcomfy bedcity
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 165 reviews
    Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

    Staff were excellent, particularly the blonde lady with glasses (aplogies can't remember her name). Great location, tidy and cosy room. Wifi was a little hit and miss when we were there but everything else ticked all the boxes. Extremely close to the tram & train station and opposite from the famous MCG. Great value for money!

    Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    Thank Ashley G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

    The most professional, friendly and helpful reception team equal to a 5 star hotel. Building is a little 'tired' however just found out it will be demolished at the end of May. A shame as the perfect location to stay in and at a reasonable price. Thank you Michelle and also the other helpful lady in reception.

    Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    Thank JohnnyUK7
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 7, 2017

    Great location close to sporting venues & a walk to the city across the gardens. Free parking, quiet street, laundry available, 15 minute walk to variety of restaurants in Bridge Road or at Tribeca. Bathroom dated, but perfectly functional. A block to a 7/11 & cafes for breakfast.

    Room Tip: Room 2 for 3 people - ground floor, looks out onto George Street.
    • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jocelyn C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 2, 2017

    Sad to see the end of GPA at the end of May, very good value for many years, but especially want to thank the EXCEPTIONAL staff for all their 5 star service (at 3 star prices!!), I wish them all the best in the future.
    Andrew

    • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank morri2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

    Where do I begin?

    You know the saying "you get what you paid for" - except, with the George Powlett Hotel, to get much less than that. Now, I wasn't expecting luxury but I've stayed in hostels charging a third of the price that are nicer than this hotel. I was greated by a pleasant, however unprofessional receptionist with an evident lack of interest in her job who sent me on my way to the most attrocious room I've ever seen.

    The carpet looked like someone had ​thrown up on it and left it to soak in, only to then be vacuumed over and ground in further. It was disgusting. The room looked like it had barely had a once over clean let alone a deep clean in the past 10 years. There were multiple light globes missing and the main light flickered, the bedside tables were falling apart, the grout in the bathroom was nearly black, hair and a towel from the previous guest were left behind, and there were noticeable stains on the sheets, walls and even the chairs. To top it all off, the shower flooded and I burnt my hand trying to turn the hot water off. I don't know how they have a 3 star rating, it's no more than a 1 star worthy hotel. Over all, the only decent thing about this hotel was the hassle free conversation I had with the receptionist about getting my money back (thanks to her previously​ mentioned interest levels). Don't waste your money here, you'd be better off at a Hostel!

    Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    2  Thank Kirsty L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews