We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$177
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$159
Pan Pacific
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
9
43
35
26
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
43
35
26
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and coffee facilitiesbudget accommodationa queen size bedquiet streetyogurtbreakfast was excellentfree internet
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Wow.... grubby grimy and not very nice.... we booked what we thought was a nice looking room with a private bathroom.... room was grimy and dark.... bedding clean though.. our bathroom was private but around the corner and down the corridor, not ideal for my 2 girls to go to the toilet in the night... this was also grimy and not been cleaned properly since the previous people... not a very nice experience at all...Cheap doesn't have to mean nasty

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Clivesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2017

This B&B is in a quiet street in East Melbourne. Very close to the MCG, tennis centre, and other stadium in that area. Stayed one night in Dec 2017.
It is easy to get to from the city, the number 48 tram from the corner Bourke Street / Spencer Street outside Southern Cross railway station, get off at stop 13 (Simpson St), then a short walk.
There were 3 of us staying, we had the family room on the ground floor at the front of the building. It had a queen size bed and a bunk bed so could sleep 4 easily. Nice big room with standard coffee / tea making facilites and microwave oven.
The bathroom was down the halll, it was our own private bathroom, we had the key to the door. The bathroom was a bit outdated but everything worked ok.
Breakfast was excellent. All the usual cereals, toast making, hot foods like eggs and bacon, pancakes, juices, fruit, etc. The dining room was nice old style room, with plenty of tables. There was a sitting room off to the side too, a place to relax later in the day to get over the activities of the day.
The house is quite large, including the upstairs level there were 33 rooms (I think). Most rooms had their own bathrooms inside (I think).
Overall, the place could do with an update of carpets in some areas, but otherwise definitely worth staying here. Check in and check out was simple.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannabeHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I booked a room online for my parents for a 5 night stay.

The property itself is good.

However, the staff there are poorly trained in customer service and are quite frankly Rude!
Specifically, Lucy in particular.

In essence, she was harassing my parents for payment in a very unpleasant manner - they are elderly and do not speak English very well.

She showed no politeness to them and consideration.

Would never recommend this property to anyone I know.



Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank BurgenlandVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Was expecting to get an en suite, but own toilet was a few metres down the corridor! Room was like a cell with a window! There was not space even for a chair, had to sit on my bed with my back to the wall to watch TV! If you are out in the evenings, it would be OK. Must admit, staff and breakfast was very good. Didn't like ash tin outside building full of cigarette butts! I would not stay again. Very.very handy for MCG etc.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank brian484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Cheap, and they do make you a nice, cooked breakfast. But this place needs pretty much everything--paint, carpet, a good scrubbing. You won't hate it, and the price at under a hundred bucks including parking out back, is right. But you won't want to step on your room floor with bare feet, either. It's really more hostel level (though not with the dorm bunks) than hotel. I'm not sorry we stayed there--last-minute decision, and inexpensive--but it's not like I'd want to take a holiday there.

Nobody on the staff speaks really great English, btw.

Room Tip: Get one with bathroom in room or you're really at hostel level.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EnglandScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews