We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and old world charm”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stay at the Windsor Hotel. It has loads of old world charm. The bed was very clean and comfortable with a lightweight doona and a pillow menu! Perfect! Not that I used it - the pillows provided were great. The room was clean and large, with all facilities and excellent TV and Wifi reception. Fresh, comfy robes, too - what luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms L…Julie,

Thank you for your rather emphatic endorsement. The team will be delighted.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Until then, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,165)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 8,165 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2017

Our stay with The Windsor was faultless. From the moment we arrived, till our final departure, we were treated like royalty. All our requests were met with minimal fuss and cannot wait until our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P2468SDleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr C…Lee,

Perfect....Thank you.. The team will be thrilled.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

With thanks and very best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We chose this for our trip due to other TA reviews. My mother in law had a cancelled flight and arrived a day late. They would not adjust her reservation so I asked for Mgr. He fixed it but promptly put us in second floor rooms above the trash rollaway and loading docks...not optimal.

The high tea was lovely, but the daily breakfast was just a buffet for 38 each- overpriced. The food at The Cricketer was a little better but we dined at The European down the street and it was very good. This place is good for the theater and local restaurants but rooms were tiny and the place is definitely in need of some renovation.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marycalvert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms Calvert…Mary,

Thank you for your valued feedback and sincere apologies for the disappointment caused especially considering the fact that you had travelled across the pacific to visit us.

I can say that our rejuvenation is expected to ramp up in the months ahead and until then all we can do is focus on providing a service second to none.

That being said we are delighted that our famous Afternoon Teas did not disappoint.

I do hope that your visit to Australia was wonderful and that we may be considered when next you head ‘Down Under’.

We shall endeavour to allocate a room with a more memorable outlook.

With thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

A friendly and professional reception. The room was very comfortable and the bedding was soft and luxurious. Decor is gorgeous. A very relaxing and traditional place to stay very close to some good restaurants and theatres.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr W...Guy,

Thank you for such kind and generous consideration in posting this glowing review. The team will be thrilled.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Service of reception, room service and doorman was all very good. I especially would like to say thank you for complimentary birthday cake at arrival.
The best thing of my stay was breakfast. Atmosphere of the restaurant was just grand. Variety of food was excellent. It was a bargain for $38. I truly enjoyed relaxed Sunday breakfast with my husband ans son.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teruaki And Kei... I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir / Madam….Teruaki and Kei…,

Thank you for your strong recommendation following your most recent Birthday stay.

The pleasure of your company was ours.

Our sincere thanks to you both and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,017 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₱6,695 - ₱18,857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing