We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #50 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We usually stay at The Langham when we stay in Melbourne but decided to check into The Intercontinental because of its central location. The positives: check in was easy, the executive room was nice & spacious, the location is perfect. Walking distance to everything. The negatives: Breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday was disappointing. The variety was great but on Saturday everything was cold, old/not fresh and not refilled. I had to ask for mushrooms, hashies and tomatoes as all the bowls were empty. Sunday they didn't have enough tables to seat their guests so we were seated at the bar where table service was not existence and we had to constantly ask for water, coffee, plates to be cleared etc. I had prepaid for our accommodation as I always do so that at checkout I can hand the room key over and leave. I was told the account wasn't settled and initially I was asked for over $100. I refused and was then told reservations made a mistake at the time I booked and paid so the final account is $52. I was not impressed. After a few back and forth conversations of 'mistakes' and me saying 'not my problem' the manager agreed to waive the fee. I'm in two minds on if we'll return.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nomiki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2017

We stayed for three nights club level at this property at the end of July. Overall the hotel itself is in good condition and the club lounge personnel took good care of us. The food offerings in the lounge were very nice, my only recommendation would be to offer a self serve hot selection in the evening. This particular lounge gives you one plate of hot hors d'oeuvres. If you want more, then you will need to ask.

The reason this property gets 2 stars from us is because we were assaulted by a vagrant when we were departing the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel does not provide a 24 hour bellman or security at the front of the hotel. When I pulled up with our car at 6:45am, my family walked from the front entrance to the curb and I unlocked the car. Suddenly a man jumped into the passenger seat and began threatening me. My wife managed to yank the person from our vehicle, and luckily the situation eventually deescalated, but only after much screaming and yelling from all of us.

After contacting the police, I wrote to the GM regarding the lack of security and suggested that they place cameras at the entrance. His reply was that privacy concerns precluded the use of cameras pointed towards the street. I find the response wholly unacceptable and certainly if privacy is a concern, then perhaps a 5-star property such as the Rialto needs to have someone on duty to provide security 24 hours a day.

Although this may have been a rare event, we have never experienced an attack such as this anywhere in the world. As such we cannot recommend this hotel until assurances can be made by management that they are taking steps to provide better security to their main entrance.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank texanaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Hi texanaust,

Thank you for contacting us about your experience at the InterContinental Melbourne Australia.

I am sorry to learn that you find the hotel lacking in front security and the level of service was a letdown. IHG sincerely cares about your experience, and I appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again.

Again, thanks for getting in touch with us. We appreciate you as our guest. If you need anything else just send us an e-mail at ihgservice@ihg.com.

Best Regards,

Ronald R.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Stayed in this hotel for a week and it's a really nice looking hotel and the rooms are nice too. Could do without the lumpy pillows and overly soft mattress though. Had breakfast every morning but could not get a proper coffee,not sure if it was the machine or the barista. Even the doorman was recommending the coffee shop next door!

Room Tip: Close the blinds so you can get to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarvis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalMlb, Concierge at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear Jarvis101,

Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our heritage building and that the room was to your liking. I have passed on the message to our F&B team in regards to your coffee experience.

I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Nelu
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Upon checkin we were quickly given our room keys - had booked 2 rooms and they forgot to give us club access keys. When we opened the suite there was a filthy rag on the sofa. We went to the Alluvial restaurant for canapes (which is not that great) and saw mice running around (took images) - my kids were terrified but i couldnt checkout since i had prepaid.We went to celebrate our daughters 10 birthday & had a late night , we were awakened by a local singer singing outside our window with a microphone at 7am . The club manager did change our room to a quiet section and then had an encounter with ants in the bathroom. No one from housekeeping attended . On day 2 we were given the same canapes as day1 and this is when i spoke to the manager and he said there is aproblem with mice the the GM is aware - hope its not like the ratatouille movie where the mice are helping the chef & wonder on the cleanliness and he gave some food credit . This was rather a depressing visit for us & will not stay at this hotel again.The only section that is worth the money is club lounge. No survey sent after visit but i have raised with customer relations .

Room Tip: City views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalMlb, Concierge at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Ani R,

Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am very sorry to hear that you encountered a number of issues with your stay. I assure you that your feedback has been followed up with our Management and Housekeeping department to actions these issues you have raised.

Kind regards

James S
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked for my birthday weekend and it wasn't the cheapest. I think about $200 per night so quite expensive but that's Melbourne for ya. I booked this hotel for the balcony and fresh air access and upon arrival all the access was locked and no advertisements telling me that when I booked so I was super disappointed. With someone who requires fresh air access readily due to terrible anxiety it was a huge stab to the chest. The hotel was lovely though, all fresh and clean and the facilities were great. The indoor pool was freezing I thought and the sauna did not heat up the best. There was no access to outside anywhere which really disappointed me! The architecture was stunning, I loved every bit of it, so beautiful. Overall it was a pretty good stay, bar the outside access I required.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ARCHER-AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalMlb, Concierge at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear JMA-AUS,

Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your stay in relation to room rates, and room fresh air flow.

Kind regards,

James
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,015 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,768 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
8,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,812 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,429 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₱6,870 - ₱26,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing