We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of old world glamour”

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 204 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved the whole experience. I felt like I was on The Orient Express. The food (three course meal) was very impressive given the limitation of not having a kitchen. The staff were fantastic. Glasses were never empty. Do yourselves a favour and add it to your list of things to do while in Melbourne. You won't regret it.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 420 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Asa couple we joined the Tramcar Restaurant for the evening ride around Melbourne. I can only say that after five courses and several drinks we were both unable to eat even a "wafer thin mint" on our way back to our hotel. The staff are friendly and the service fantastic. The steak was excellent for both of us and although we have different tastes both were cooked to perfection.As it was quite dark one does not get a great sight of the surroundings but in a way that gives a feeling of being lost in the city which adds a little mystery to the evening. Cngratulations to our Chef Kaye and our wait staff Erin and Landon. Strongly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank wenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is a good way to experience a trip around inner city Melbourne on one of Melbourne's iconic trams while having a slap-up meal. The food is excellent, and you can choose from lunch, and early or late dinner. The meal includes alcoholic beverages and the service is superb. It's the sort of thing to splurge on while you're on vacation, or for a special occasion. When you look at it, all up, it's about what you would pay for food and drinks at a good restaurant, plus you get a tram ride around the city in a unique vintage tram.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The unique ambience of an old fashioned tramcar, combined with excellent, well-prepared and beautifullly presented food and attentive, friendly and impeccable service made our dinner last night a memorable experience. I would recommend this dining adventure to any visitor to Melbourne!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank karenlV1048BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We did the early evening tour with 3 courses, which was ideal as we had a 9 year old with us. The staff were very attentive, the food was good and nothing was too much trouble. A really good tourist experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JenniferTaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing