We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Hobart”
Review of The Lady Nelson

The Lady Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come aboard, relax and enjoy Tall Ship sailing within one of the world's most picturesque harbours. The Lady Nelson is a full size replica of the original England built Brig that the first settlers to Hobart arrived in. Short harbour sails provide a unique opportunity to experience tall ship sailing. Haul on a line, steer the ship, talk to the captain and crew or just relax and enjoy the magnificent views of Hobart. The Lady Nelson is available for private charter and offers multi-day sailing trips exploring places such as Port Arthur, Tasman Peninsular, Bruny Island and the d'Entrecasteaux Channel. The ship can also be booked as a unique waterside venue for functions, parties and historical talks.
Reviewed 23 December 2017

On day017 of our 6 month 6 continent AWT2017 Around the World Trip, we sailed on the Lady Nelson. Phillip welcomed us on board and the entire crew was outstanding, especially the volunteers!

The trip was the perfect length and the crew did a great balance act of safety and allowing the visitors freedom to move about.

HIGHLY recommend this for all ages.

1  Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALHob, Manager at The Lady Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Hi Byron. thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"volunteer crew"
in 10 reviews
"tall ship"
in 13 reviews
"sailing ship"
in 6 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 6 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 5 reviews
"ring the bell"
in 3 reviews
"high seas"
in 3 reviews
"morning cruise"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful vessel"
in 2 reviews
"set sail"
in 2 reviews
"minute cruise"
in 2 reviews
"derwent river"
in 8 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 3 reviews
"sails"
in 32 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

I'm an old boatie. Had the choice of markets, shops, parks etc. What do you choose? No contest, a day on the water on the wonderful old Lady Nelson. Sailing is mellow in the Derwent, but the boat is pretty busy as the 15 or so crew handle the sails. Huge amount of cordage on board, and is so interesting to see how it all works out. Guys got plenty of sail up, and we rolled along at a fair old clip. The skipper and crew were happy to explain what is going to/or what just happened. Give them a sec to stop puffing! Loved it, recommend it even if are not a boatie. John R Southport/Albury

Thank Experience395327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALHob, Skipper at The Lady Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi John
Thank you for your kind words.

Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I went on the morning trip today and found a very welcoming, friendly crew that are all volunteers. It was a perfect day for a sail and was very well run by the team. 1 1/2 hours is a good time for the trip to get a good view of Hobart.
Thanks to the crew for a great experience.

Thank jat78travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALHob, Manager at The Lady Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your kind words

Mal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

My partner and I stumbled across the sign for tall ship cruises when we were walking around the harbour and so I jumped online booked a morning cruise and paid online - super easy.

The ship is personned by a group of vounteers - some salty old hands and some newbies but all with a love of sailing and wanting to share that with passengers. You can participate by pulling a few ropes or just sit back and enjoy the ride.

Derwent River is beautiful regardless of whether it is choppy or still and on this particular day it was still. So we got to hear penguins and birds and see a sea lion frolicking.

It's a cheap day out at $30 pp and times are 11am and 2pm for 1.5 hrs. Just right!! And well timed for a nice cuppa or breakfast at nearby restaurants or save yourself for a fish and chip lunch before or after.

Bring a wind jacket and a hat but they do have extras if you need them.

Thank mogthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALHob, Public Relations Manager at The Lady Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Thanks for your kind words and I am glad you and your partner enjoyed your trip. Feedback like this helps us especially being a 100% volunteer organisation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We all thoroughly enjoyed our time sailing on the Lady Nelson! So much fun getting hands on experience of sailing while learning the boats history. The crew who are all volunteers, were superb and we cannot recommend this tour highly enough. A must if your are in Hobart with or without the kids!

Thank Cartersadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALHob, Manager at The Lady Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lady Nelson also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Lady Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing