We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Henry Jones Art Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$156
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$152
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
US$106
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveler rating
369
328
67
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
328
67
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaold world charmgrand old hotelrestored hotelturn down servicesuperior roommurray streetold stylestep back in timespa suitesalamanca marketscar parksalamanca placefamily roomcomfortable bedscity centrereception staff
Filter
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We stayed at this wonderful hotel with another family for a weekend away. Our family had the family room overlooking the front of the hotel. This room is huge which was great as there were four of us in this room. Beautifully decorated and very quiet. We couldn't hear any street noise. The shampoo/conditioner etc in the bathroom is top quality and everything was pristine clean. The beds were very comfortable and the linen crisp and fresh. We had a king and two singles.

The bar and reception areas are very cosy and welcoming and we loved having a few drinks here each night before bed.

I must also mention the friendliness of the staff. We were always welcomed back into the hotel with a warm smile and a 'where have you been today' etc. Bar staff helped me out with assisting me to remember a wine I'd had last time I visited Hobart.

Special mention to Mark at reception who felt like family to all of us by the time we left.

Can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: Room 403 is the pick of the family rooms. Lovely view of the cathedral across the road.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear larli,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful weekend away at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Its a shame that the High Tea at Hadleys has changed. Although the new area is lovely it was nice to sit in the front dining room as it feels more formal. The price of the high tea has gone up and the amount of food gone down. It has lost its sparkle on the presentation side with the food. Be careful when you think you are paying $32.50 for high tea and the waiter offers you a glass of bubbles not mentioning that you dont get it in that price, when you leave he then tells you need to pay $39.00 per head and although it did appear on the small menu on the table if you did not read it you would be shocked, he should tell you first, 2 of our table of 12 where shocked by this. Bring back the hightea of old and then you may have more people pay $32 - $45,
. Not for 3 little bits of sandwich, 2 small scones, 4 very very little cakes. Bit OTT for the price. Will be looking at other venues for hightea now. One of the male waiters needed to wear deoderant, especially as they reach accross you to access the table, very off putting.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear kathy g,
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent High Tea experience at Hadley’s Orient Hotel. We have recently increased the menu offering which now includes chef’s selection of three sandwiches, chicken liver parfait with cheese shortbread, fresh house-made traditional scones served with fresh whipped cream and Tasmanian raspberry jam, pumpkin scones served with Tasmanian butter, lemon meringue kiss biscuit, vanilla bean cheesecake with maraschino cherry, berry panna cotta tart and flourless chocolate torte with whipped ganache along with a selection of fine loose-leaf teas served in individual teapots. We have been receiving very positive feedback about the new menu along with a high volume of reservations and feel that $32.50 represents good value for money.
We do apologise for any confusion caused due of the additional cost for a glass of Tasmanian sparkling wine. We offer a Traditional High Tea and a Sparkling High Tea which includes a glass of Tasmanian sparkling wine for an additional $7.00 per person. Our policy is to ask our guests their preference at the time of booking and again when we confirm their booking the day before.
We are sorry to hear you preferred the bar area (where we previously served High Tea) to the newly restored Atrium which is quite grand and flooded with natural light due to the high, glass ceiling. Should you wish to return again for High Tea, please advise us of your seating preference and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Thank you for bringing to our attention what you felt were hygiene concerns which we will certainly be discussing with the staff member concerned and, indeed, the entire team at Hadley’s Orient Hotel.
We strive to ensure our guests and patrons experience the best possible service during their visits and, again, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your visit.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stayed recently for 2 nights on business, this was my first trip to Hobart so was solely relying on Tripadvisor reviews when i booked here and I wasn't disappointed. On check in I noticed the hotel looked pretty quiet so a tried my luck on requesting an upgrade and it was no trouble at all for the friendly Front Office girl to do so, tick one on making a good first impression! The suite i was upgraded to was roomy to say the least, almost too roomy (that's not a complaint), In the separate living area I loved the chesterfield lounge and coffee table but that was all there pretty much was other than another armchair and the TV, it needs to be filled out a bit more, maybe a small dining table, and it still wouldn't look cluttered, that's how big the living room alone room is.

The bathroom is quite modern with quality ammentities, it also had a spa in it, which made the shower cubicle a bit small but bearable. The bedroom is huge with another TV and very comfortable bed and the bedroom come with separate Aircon unit.

Free and reasonably fast wi-fi is also provided.

I ate dinner twice in the Hotel Bar and must say was only expecting Pub grub but this was definitely a few steps up the rung on just bar or pub food and I enjoyed both dinners immensely. Breakfast was also just as good, albeit rather lonely being the only one in the breakfast room at the time ( I did say the hotel was quiet).

As others have stated the hotel is in a good location only minutes walk to the Waterfront.

All in all a quality stay in a quality hotel with quality, friendly staff, I'll be back whether it be for Business or Pleasure next time.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Ulurus,
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay on this occasion and we are so pleased that you will stay with us again on your next visit whether it be for business or pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

This is a great heritage hotel with comfortable and very clean rooms and amazingly friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for three nights as one of four couples. The hotel has been well restored and is grand.

The bar is a great place for pre dinner drinks but suggest that you try one of the great nearby restaurants for dinner. Although in saying, that my hamburger was delicious.

The High Tea is fun...suggest that a glass of sparkling is an absolute necessity to go with it.

Whilst our room wasn't huge, it was clean and the beds gorgeous and comfortable. Lighting is a bit dim (especially in our room as the globe had blown in my bedside table) but is in keeping with the era. Lovely toiletries.

Ideally located, the hotel is close to everything in the city...a stroll down to the wharf or Salamanca Markets, close to coffee shops and restaurants and short walk to the main shopping precinct.

Parking is $15 per night and is in a secure public car park a short walk from the hotel.

We loved this place and will be back!

Room Tip: Need to ask specifically for a room with a view...many overlook the roof below
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollybelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Polly R,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to read that you loved Hadley’s and will return again next time you are visiting Hobart. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Our experience at Hadley's Hotel was awesome. The perfect venue to cater for a wedding. Our sons' wedding ceremony was held at Hadleys. Both families and many wedding guest also stayed at Hadleys. Local & Interstate guests were very impressed with both facilities & extremely helpful staff. Hadley's is such a lovely old hotel. It's location makes it ideal for those who have a limited time in Tasmania but have heaps to do. Our wedding guest enjoyed site seeing and culinary experiences at Richmond, Huon Valley and the & Coal River Wine region. Guest parking was also great for those who hired cars. Shelley from Carlton, Tasmania.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony on the Murray Street side is very romantic
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Dear Shelley H,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. It was a pleasure welcoming all of the local and interstate guests and we were so happy to be a part of your son’s wedding celebrations. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews