We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Nearby Hotels
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pickled Frog Backpackers(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$157
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Henry Jones Art Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$207
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
136
286
172
86
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
286
172
86
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfootball ovalelizabeth streetold buildingsitting roomquiet locationold world charmold styleshort drivelarge bathroombed was very comfortablecity centrebreakfast was includedhire carenjoyable stayfree parkingmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

There is plenty of free parking, check in was a breeze and it isnt too far from the CBD.

The room I stayed in had a good shower, was modern and had a small fridge. Although the fridge didnt really have a freezer, there was a colder shelf but it didnt freeze anything.

The fridge was also filled with overpriced junk, barely leaving enough room for your own items. In a place where there is a supermarket on every third corner, why would I pay $4.50 for a Cherry Ripe when I can get one for $1 elsewhere? Surely if things were more reasonably priced, you would sell more. Minibars are a thing of the past.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Harvey W,

Thank you for feedback, we appreciate you taking the time.

Kind Regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We recently stayed here with 3 guests in our group, the rooms are nice, the bed was comfortable however the sofa that we had made up for one of our guest smelled badly of urine, we also only had 2 towels and cups for 3 guests. We did let reception know and they were going to discuss with house keeping so hopefully it was just our bad luck on the day. The other reason for the lower rating is having to drag your suitcases so far up the stairs, I'm not sure if there was any areas easily accessed by a lift. We did have breakfast there and it was very good. We stayed in a King Manor Room. They did have lots of parking and easy access from the city.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a lower level
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saminda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

HI Saminda E,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review.
My sincere apologises concerning the sofa bed. This has been resolved and again sorry was not noticed before your arrival.
Hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future

Kind Regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I booked this place quickly and without much thought but upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. Lovely attentive staff, beautiful large clean room in an amazing old building and magnificent views. After arriving late we made our way to the bar where we enjoyed a few drinks whilst chatting to the friendly staff. The vibe of this place is more intimate and personal that I would have thought for a Rydges chain. Combined with the old building - it works well. In the morning we enjoyed a brisk walk to the markets and to collect our hire car. This place would have been given five stars and not four had it an open fire place that wasn’t fake and a bed that myself and boyfriend actually fitted in.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank KrisNeskovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi KrisNeskovski,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review on Rydges Hobart. We pride ourselves on creating a nice ambience with a personal touch from our team. Glad you enjoyed your stay location of the hotel.

Many Thanks

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rydges for 3 nights. The room was very nice and spacious. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. We enjoyed dinner in the Restaurant on our first night and breakfast all 3 mornings. The staff were all very nice and helpful.
The carpark had lots of spaces so we never felt jammed in.
We would love to return to Hobart in the future as 3 day’s was simply not enough time. We will definitely be staying at Rydges again.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Patricia Y,

Thank you for your lovely review on Rydges Hobart. Glad you enjoyed the comforts on offer in our rooms and our signature dream beds.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future to explore Hobart.

Many Thanks
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Used this as our base for 5 nights and its been great. Only negative is the distance from Hobart.. Had to catch cabs on days we weren't collected but they don't cost much. Beautiful breakfast as well.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Jenny T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time.
Overall glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Hobart.

Regards
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews