We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic winery tour!”
Review of Taste The Barossa

Taste The Barossa
Ranked #9 of 67 Food & Drink in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: •Small Group Winery tours (max 20 people) •4 world class wineries, including Peter Lehmann Wines where we enjoy the famous Weighbridge regional platter for lunch (vegetarian option available), Langmeil (home to the oldest Shiraz vineyard in the world) & a mystery winery that will showcase the best of the Barossa. Explore the Barossa Valley with Taste the Barossa and you will enjoy a day tasting some of the best food and wine in Australia. We start the day at a relaxing 9am picking you up at your accommodation or a pre arranged point in Adelaide. We make our way out of Adelaide through the Adelaide Hills with our first stop the famous Whispering Wall where you will be fascinated by its famous acoustic qualities.Our first winery is the beautiful and historic Château Yaldara, this is one of the most photographed buildings in South Australia and no trip to the Barossa Valley is complete without getting a photo in front of this iconic building.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This tour was full of history, from our very knowledgeable tour guide, and of course wine. Four wineries, with differently structured tastings and a fabulous lunch included. A thoroughly entertaining and educational day. Thanks, JR for being such a wonderful host - great humour to keep all participants (mix of international and Aus) engaged.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank anneg32942018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"whispering wall"
in 109 reviews
"peter lehmann"
in 61 reviews
"chateau yaldara"
in 36 reviews
"wine tour"
in 95 reviews
"great tour"
in 73 reviews
"platter lunch"
in 20 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 32 reviews
"visited wineries"
in 34 reviews
"sparkling shiraz"
in 11 reviews
"day trip"
in 36 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 31 reviews
"different wineries"
in 27 reviews
"great wineries"
in 31 reviews
"driver guide"
in 28 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 21 reviews
"small group"
in 37 reviews
"local produce"
in 26 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This was an excellent day! A massive thank you to JR, our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and provided great insight into the history of the area. He made the day go smoothly and everyone had a ball.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas17, Owner at Taste The Barossa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Andrew
Thanks for the review. For some reason I was singing the Gilligan's Island theme song all day. Really glad you enjoyed the day.
Regards
Dallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

First of all a big "Thank you" to JR, he was our tour guide/bus driver last week. Amazing how much he knows about the Barossa valley, Adelaide and the history. On top of that he knew a lot about the Swiss culture where we came from. My friend and I were impressed! I highly recommend the Barossa wine tour (especially in Spring). Beautiful little villages, surroundings and wine tasting locations. You can taste enough different wines and the cheese platter for lunch was awesome. Thanks again for the fantastic experience and the fun bus ride. It was a perfect day!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Larissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas17, Owner at Taste The Barossa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Larissa
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. JR really is a wealth of knowledge and still surprises me with some of the things he knows. You are spot on about the Barossa being wonderful in Spring but to be honest there really isn't a bad time to visit the Barossa.
Enjoy the rest of your time in Australia.
Regards
Dallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Adelaide was our first stop on our 25th anniversary trip. A perfectly planned wine tour in a lovely area was a perfect way to begin our adventures. Our guide, JR, was so knowledge and entertaining. I loved his stories about the area during our drive and hearing a bit about him and his family as well. We visited Chateau Yaldara, Peter Lehmann, Langmeil, Lindsay. The lunch at Peter Lehmann was more than we could even eat (shared platter between my husband and I). It was perfect with an additional glass of (purchased) wine. :) I enjoyed the walk between Peter Lehmann and Langmeil-the stroll was a great way to work off some of the lunch. There was no pressure to purchase wine during the tour but of course you are going to want to because it was fabulous!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Monica_Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas17, Owner at Taste The Barossa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Monica
Thanks for such a wonderful review. We often get asked why we don't use one of those systems that generate TripAdvisor reviews and it's because of reviews like this. I prefer one sincere review from a person who uses TripAdvisor regularly with some great photos than 10 reviews of 4 lines from people that have have never used TripAdvisor before.
Thanks again for your review and Happy 25th Anniversary.
Regards
Dallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I was tasked with booking a wine tour for a friends birthday. A group of lads who love wine but can be a bit spirited what could go wrong. On speaking to Dallas the brief was to find us some boutique wineries and a spot of lunch that would do the Barossa justice - oh boy did he deliver. The vineyards we visited were amazing with just the right balance of understanding the history and process, and obviously tasting some amazing wine. Lunch was perfect . Dallas was such a fantastic host and made the day so easy for me and the guys. Needless to say a lot of wine made its way back to Sydney.
I'd thoroughly recommend these guys to organise your trip and we will be back for more soon.
Thanks again Dallas for a great day.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas17, Owner at Taste The Barossa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi James
Thanks very much for this wonderful review. We don't normally take groups of lads on days in the Barossa however we did have a good few chats before the day and I had briefed the wineries we were to visit that although you were a group of lads you were genuinely interested in quality wine. Every winery we visited contacted me after the day to say what a great group you were. The fact you bought the equivalent of 1 weeks sales at 1 cellar door was a bonus!
I look forward to seeing you and a few of the lads when you come down next time.
Regards
Dallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste The Barossa also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Taste The Barossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing