We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food”
Review of Marion Hotel

Marion Hotel
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 28/02
20:00
Ranked #1,582 of 1,856 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Description: The brand new Marion Hotel. The hub of hospitality in Adelaide’s Suburban South. Boasting a host of new spaces, modern features and 62 guest rooms - a farcry from what the hotel once used to be. The perfect home away from home and only 15 minutes south of the Adelaide CBD, the rooms are fitted with the latest technology, as well as quirky yet functional furnishings - structured in a way to allow options for every budget and taste. Celebrating a special occasion? The appropriately named Treetops Rooms sit upon the 4th floor of the hotel and offer guests a luxurious accommodation experience with large open floor plans, custom made king beds and freestanding soak baths overlooking the neighbouring suburbs and rolling Adelaide Hills. In the heart of the newly developed hotel sits the aptly named “The Garden” - a massive, open area filled with natural light, green plants and modern furnishings. Featuring an extensive list of local wines, craft beer and small batch spirits; as well as
Restaurant details
Description: The brand new Marion Hotel. The hub of hospitality in Adelaide’s Suburban South. Boasting a host of new spaces, modern features and 62 guest rooms - a farcry from what the hotel once used to be. The perfect home away from home and only 15 minutes south of the Adelaide CBD, the rooms are fitted with the latest technology, as well as quirky yet functional furnishings - structured in a way to allow options for every budget and taste. Celebrating a special occasion? The appropriately named Treetops Rooms sit upon the 4th floor of the hotel and offer guests a luxurious accommodation experience with large open floor plans, custom made king beds and freestanding soak baths overlooking the neighbouring suburbs and rolling Adelaide Hills. In the heart of the newly developed hotel sits the aptly named “The Garden” - a massive, open area filled with natural light, green plants and modern furnishings. Featuring an extensive list of local wines, craft beer and small batch spirits; as well as
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful environment let down by a very poor kitchen. it was a late lunch and I had vegetable stir fry which was like a soup and my friend had a very sad and soggy fish and chips.
Wouldn’t eat there again but would sit and have a drink or coffee.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolina505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist23360818372, Marketing at Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback Caroline, I have spoken to your friend Lynn on facebook and will investigate the issue with the team.

Thanks again,

Jess - Marion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2021

Chicken, Bacon waffle breakfast sounds unusual but was surprisingly tasty.
My son had the carrot pancakes, and he loved them.
The decor for the Garden restaurant is very well done.
I found the staff to be friendly and looked as if they love their job.
The hotel room have comfortable beds, and I always love a room that has an openable window.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank johanner246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2020

Had dinner Sat night for Xmas! Not much customer service didn’t know there was drink service at the table sick of waiting ended up going to the bar! Didn’t have duck on the menu sold out at lunch and the pork I ordered was dry and missing a food item on the plate. The hotel looks great but the food is very average!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 389gabriellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

$26 big brekky or as they call it 'The Lot'....stone cold sausage , mushrooms so salty couldnt eat them , asked for poached eggs... they were more like 10 min hard boiled eggs. If a chef cant do runny eggs get another job , i put more bacon on my sandwiches. All washed down with a cold flat white....hot would have been better. Will not be returning. Before the make over the brekkys were spot on.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank sufc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Yes beautiful refurbished hotel and the tree room is fabulous but sadly that’s the best I can say about our night there....service non existent,food very tasteless and ordinary and very pricey for what it was....orders were all mixed up ..side salad if u could call it that was some funky lettuce with a slice of onion no tomato or cucumber and a dribble of some sort of dressing,no dressing on the pork meal or the ceaser salads...I ordered a mushroom gravy and got pepper and wen I complained u could see the eye roll....we had to pick up our own meals from no table service at all ...no cutlery on the tables so all night we were up and down to get things rightly done..asked for salt and pepper ...,still waiting for that ...our booking was even messed up .........would I recommend this establishment....no ...so disappointing really used to love this place

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristinaRed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marion Hotel also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Philippines
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.