We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$317
US$245
View deal
SAVE US$72
eDreams
Booking.com
US$317
US$246
View deal
SAVE US$71
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$273
Hotels.comUS$273
Destinia.comUS$317
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,200)
Filter reviews
8,200 results
Traveler rating
2,968
3,129
1,304
532
267
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,968
3,129
1,304
532
267
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beauty spots tour sand bar maheno restaurant bush tucker lake mackenzie river heads natural beauty day tour hotel room beautiful island buffet breakfast family holiday general store whale watching ranger seabelle sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 8,200 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

We planned to celebrate our wedding anniversary in style, buying a Luxury Escape package, at what we expected to be a 4-5 Star establishment. We had booked dinner in the Seabelle Fine Dining Restaurant. We upgraded our room category to Spa Room for an extra $69 per night. On checking in we were advised that Seabelle was closed for renovations, and had been for some time. Why were we never told? We even received an email confirmation of our booking a week before we travelled, that included our Seabelle reservation! We were taken to our upgraded room via an elevated walkway, that passed over the receiving dock for the kitchens. The smell of cigarettes wafted up from the staff smoking area below! The room was large and very dated. The spa bath had a large yellow stain on it. There was no Mini bar, the two wine glasses didn’t match, there were no champagne flutes, there was one small plate, and when I phoned for glasses and an ice bucket, was told there was no room service! I went down to the bar and got glasses & ice, and was asked not to tell anyone!! Dining options were limited. Only the Sand & Wood Restaurant offered sit down dining. The Sand Bar offered Take Away. It is a few hundred metres walk in the dark. Our first night dinner in Sand & Wood was poor! Crispy Pork Belly to share was not crisp, but soft and chewy. The plate was obviously pre prepared with the potatoes welded to the plate! Our next night take away pizza was incinerated and inedible! The Caesar Salad was ok. Our final night dinner for our anniversary was in Sand & Wood again. This time, the Seafood Tower at $150, was excellent. Breakfast each morning was basic. Overall we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, however many appeared new and undertrained. I pointed out to a barman that he was using Gin not Tequila to make a Margarita cocktail!! The Pool Bar was also closed. Pool towels were available from Reception, about as far from the pool as you could get! Food & drink had to be purchased inside. The tables between the lounges in the pool area, were dirty and covered in food & drink stains, and plates and glasses rarely collected. The Sunset Cruise included in our package was a real highlight! Highly recommended.
All in all we were very disappointed in the resort. The natural beauty of the island made up for much. However the resort didn’t come close to its advertising hype. Covid can’t be the excuse for what we experienced!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TheBearFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirlee Lenz, Other at Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear John,

Thank you for posting and accepting our Senior Managers call to discuss your experience.

Please again accept our sincerest apologies that the updated information regarding Seabelle was not sent to you prior to your stay, we are refurbishing the restaurant and bar and do look forward to unveiling this shortly. This is just one of the initiatives to upgrade the resort. Modernisations to the rooms has also commenced and is ongoing. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have ensured this has been shared with the relevant department heads including our Executive Housekeeper to inspect the spa.

We understand you have discussed your dining experience in detail and we would like to assure you we are listening and are working through the points that you have raised. Review of the offerings and re--training will be provided accordingly. We are pleased to hear you did enjoy the Seafood Tower, cruise and our staff did impress.

Feedback such as yours is invaluable to ensure continuous improvement and we do hope we are able to welcome you back one day and serve you better.

All the best from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2021

Very disappointed with the staff and services. The resort rooms and amenities are very old. The staff is not friendly or helpful and needs professional training. The resort is also very understaffed. We were there at an extremely busy period and had to wait in line for everything from asking a question at the front desk to getting a glass of water. Long long waiting times and rude staff members.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GunikaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirlee Lenz, Other at Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear Gunika,

Thank you for taking the time to post and complete your survey. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the aspects of your time with us that let you down. Guest service and satisfaction is of the highest importance to us and our Reputation Manager is trying to get in touch with you to discuss this further and obtain additional information so your feedback can be actioned accordingly.

Could you kindly return our call at your convenience. On behalf of us all, we very much hope to speak to you and be able to turn this experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2021

What an amazing place to stay. Can't wait to go back for another stay.So many activities with the bush tucker tasting, Kayaking and Dugong spotting some of my favourites. The sunset bar on the beach is a great place to relax

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bakey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirlee Lenz, Other at Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

The perfect balance of relaxation and adventure!

Thanks so much for taking the time to post with 5 little green circles and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY again from all the team, thanks for choosing us to celebrate with Bakey41 .

On behalf of us all, we very much hope to see you island side again one day soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

No one WIPING public door areas. Staff at restaurant do what they have to and no extra. Rooms need tidying up, cracked tiles, walls been knocked around. Happy Hour bar staff member couldn't even go out of her way to promote ANYTHING

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Notice255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirlee Lenz, Other at Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear Notice255068,

Thank you for taking the time to post. We would like to assure you that we have an approved industry COVID safe plan in which we apply all aspects of and take this very seriously.

We would like extend our apologies that your accommodation let you down and have arranged an inspection of your room to promptly resolve any identified issues. We also appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your experience at the bar and have shared this with our Food and Beverage Manager.

On behalf of all of the team, we wish you all the very best with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021 via mobile

Loved coming back to visit. Emma at the sunset bar was great. Always a great place to visit, we always feel so welcome. It’s such a good place to unwind and relax. We will definitely be back to visit again when we are back in the area.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank T3120FNelizabethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews