We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of average for a “resort”.”

Fitzroy Island Resort
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kind of average for a “resort”. The ferry over was fantastic, staff were really lovely and animated.

There’s only the expensive restaurant - Zephyr’s and the pub for food on the island. We went to Zephyrs for dinner because we thought the food would be better than just fried food. The food was not bad but incredibly overpriced for the serving sizes. I guess it was meant to be “fancy” but the service was pretty average and the overall experience was pretty meh.

There’s a couple of small hikes around the island but it was stinger season so we didn’t swim for long at the beaches as we didn’t have stinger suits. But the beaches all have dead coral/rubble from the bleached reefs so it’s also not that pleasant to just hang out on the beach.

We bought some beers and three packs of snacks from the general store, and came to $100. The pool was pretty dirty and the beachfront cabin we stayed in for a night was also kind of average. Poorly designed bathroom and pretty uncomfortable beds.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 176samanthap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

Fitzroy Island Resort
Zephyr Restaurant

Great Restuarant!!

We were spoilt with extraordinary service by THE BEST waiter we’ve ever met. LACHIE, thank you. He was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and made us feel like the part of the island family. He is a hard worker and great asset to the island.

The management team are obviously great at finding the right people for their restaurant. The last night we were served with attentive and friendly service from their newest recruit Lewis ( Louis) .

This is not a 5 ⭐️resort , it is an Easy Going Aussie Island that is unspoilt and simple. WiFi is not great, but on an island, this is not a priority for me.

We stayed 4 nights in a beach cabin. Clean comfortable and great Aircon.

We did 3 mins walks
1. Light house ( difficult)
2. Nudey Beach ( medium)
3. Secret Garden (easy)

Cocktails are delightful

Getting our snorkeling gear and stinger protection suit was easy. $20 pp $15 for the extra day.
We swam with a beautiful sea turtle, and saw parrot fish and many other beauties.

Tips to help your stay:

•Take your own fruit, snacks (& food
if in a cabin with a Webber bbq).
•Take mosquito repellent
•Take good walking shoes

I wasn’t a fan on some food at Roxy’s, however all the burgers were delicious and the setting over the water is exquisite.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank DebGallagher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

This is the main venue to get food and drinks on Fitzroy island. Small snacks such as hot chips are offered as well as larger meals such as burgers. Both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks are offered. This restaurant unfortunately misses out on a 5-star rating simply due to the pricing...it’s quite up there. All things considered though, I’d recommend this restaurant for a feed or drink.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank mgsantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

We had an appalling experience boarding 11am Fitzroy flyer 29 Dec 20! Staff left us standing in the burning sun for over half an hour. When I told them that we were about to have a heat stroke and to please speed up the boarding, they became rude saying ‘you will just have to wait’ . Poor customer service, disorganised, inconsiderate and ill mannered staff! They don’t deserve to have a job!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank S4964KUvaleriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2020

Visited Fitzroy island resort for Christmas and my birthday 2020. When arriving it was only my mum and I and we were struggling with baggage, when we asked reception for help or to use trolleys they said “we don’t do that here” and refused to assist and said that we should just drag the bags down the hall, up the stairs and down another hall to our room. There was no welcome or explanation of how to get to our room or the facilities of the resort.

We were told we would have a view and a king bed and we arrived to a room of two single beds, a very dark, small room with no balcony or view except for the noisy housekeeping storage cupboard from our window so we had to permanently keep the curtain closed. We didn’t see any COVID cleans of common areas. For toilets, pool/pool area and behind the pool bar were visibly dirty. Housekeeping had to be booked through reception and even though we provided 24 hour notice we would have to call up several times and they wouldn’t arrive until in the late evening. Our bath and pool towels were saturated and unable to dry in what they called a resort studio room.

Staff were not welcoming and meant there was no holiday resort vibe, the worst of the staff were the two males at the reception desk. Christmas dinner was lovely but overpriced and absolutely zero vibe. Safety wise I was concerned as it wasn’t COVID regulation compliant, slippery tiles in pool and common areas and resulted in witnessing a lot of people injuring themselves. Many areas needed renovation and the beach areas have no lifeguard.

The natural scenery is beautiful but it’s infortunate the resort and staff didn’t meet our expectations considering the money paid.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank bula_life08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Island Resort also viewed

Fitzroy Island, Queensland
Fitzroy Island, Queensland
 

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.