We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kerrielb

Perfect Island Getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 15, 2023
We went to Bedarra to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful relaxing stay. The staff are amazing...so friendly and made us feel very welcome, nothing was ever too much trouble. The food...wow!! Best massage ever...thank you Ingrid. The island itself is green and lush with rainforest in which the villas are situated and the little beaches are gorgeous. The villa was private and very comfortable. Highlight was taking the dinghy to a deserted island with a picnic lunch and a bottle of bubbles...felt like the only people in the world. Snorkelling was great...saw some lovely areas of coral and lots of fish. Overall highly recommend for a relaxing island getaway.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱16,307
  • Booking.com
10.6 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Bathroom DSC
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,202
  • Booking.com
13.8 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,427
  • Booking.com
15.9 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,552
  • Booking.com
17.0 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reef
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.3 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.1 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Cardwell Beachfront Motel. 100m walk to the Jetty and shops
Contact accommodation for availability.
31.2 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
16.1 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bedarra Island
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail hour plunge pool beach house other guests picnic lunch our honeymoon mission beach helicopter ride private dining behind the scenes sea legs matching wines moment you arrive every staff member barefoot luxury absolute paradise large deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 447 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2023 via mobile

Yes, Bedarra Island really is that wonderful. The whole experience is carefully curated to make it feel seamless and effortless to the guest. We flew by helicopter to and from the island via Cairns. The helicopter pilot, Roger, was warm and friendly and gave us a sightseeing tour both ways. Inland on the way down over the wetlands, river, valleys, sugar cane and banana plantations. Back up via the coast where we saw turtles, manta rays, dolphins and dugong as well as the stunning scenery. When we landed at Bedarra Island we were met by the manager Geoffrey, and the lovely Samuel waiting for us with a tray of refreshing cool drinks. A brief tour of the facilities following by lunch on a private deck in the rainforest surrounds overlooking the ocean. Then to our beautiful villa to settle in. Photos of the island really can’t fully capture the beauty of the place. It really is a very private place, with villas hidden within the tropical rainforest. It often feels like you have the whole island to yourself. There is the opportunity to socialise over cocktails and dinner, or you can completely keep to yourself. The gardens and rainforest were incredibly beautiful, and we loved the wildlife on the island. There are many walks on the island ranging from short ones with sealed paths much of the way, to longer ones in the bush. The pool and ocean were both 29 degrees Celsius and so relaxing! We went out with Darryl on the MV Sousa for a half day snorkelling on the reef and it was stunning. Darryl was very knowledgeable and experienced, and was able to tell us a lot about the reef and various fish. We felt very safe with him. We also did some snorkelling just off the beaches of the island and there was plenty to see. Massages and facials with Ingrid were relaxing and therapeutic - she is amazing. The food was excellent and they were able to cater for my friend who is vegan. All of the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. They went out of there way to help us with whatever we wanted and nothing felt like too much bother. It’s a wonderful team led by the fabulous Geoffrey. I can’t wait to visit again.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lisadG7817WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2023

We spent 4 nights at Bedarra Island Resort to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. The entire experience was simply incredible. I'll start with what makes Bedarra so special - the people.

The staff:
If I had to pick one thing which made our stay so special, it would be the staff. They made our stay. Literally, nothing was a problem. It was clear the entire team is passionate about what they do including the sustainability of the island and it's many treasures. I want to say a huge THANK YOU to Geoffery, Jessica, Bunny, Samuel, Becky, and anyone I've forgotten. It's a rare thing to meet such wonderful, professional, and genuine people.

The accommodation:
What is so unique about this resort is the layout. They've obviously taken great care when designing the resort, as every bungalow feels incredibly private. The view from our room was stunning. The fit-out was beautiful - comfy bed, air-conditioning, large lounge area, and an outside deck with sun lounges.

The food:
I went to Bedarra expecting good quality meals, yet also accepting that we are staying at the resort for it's location and beautiful beaches, not for the food. I was wrong! The food was incredible! Breakfast, lunch, or dinner - it was all delicious! They have a wonderful chef there, which made every meal a highlight of our trip. They also do this clever concept of 'suggested wines' by the glass with each course. Much better than simply doing the standard 'matching wines' as you can drink as little or as much as you like. The wines were all wonderful, and their suggestions perfectly complimented the meal.

The island:
There is so much to do on Bedarra Island. We took one of the motorised tinnies over to another island for a picnic. The Bedarra team packed a picnic for us, which included fresh wraps, salads, cheeses, and a bottle of wine. This experience was the highlight of our visit. The team provided everything we needed, such as beach umbrellas, picnic rugs, etc. Make sure you do this!

On another day, we kayaked around the island. This took around an island, and I highly recommend it! We saw two turtles right next to our kayak. We also hiked up and over the island to Valley Beach (I hope I got that right). It's a tough hike, but totally worth it. Stunning views and plenty of photo opportunities!

So, would I recommend Bedarra Island Resort? 100%. We will be back! If you're after a luxury holiday at a resort run by beautiful people, this is it.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 20, 2023

Everything you've read is true. Gourmet 3-course meals daily, to unlimited access to wine cellar and bar, seclusion and serenity. The most picturesque "barefoot luxury" experience one can imagine. Sand and beach a bit rocky with bit of seaweed, but will be the least of your concerns. Postcard views at every part of the resort, with comfort and rejuvenation at the core of what Bedarra has to offer. The staff are bar-none. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable Honeymoon.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob_inT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2023

Bedarra is a place that forces you to relax and that is exactly what we needed. We loved our little Villa 14 it was very private and loved the pool. All the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome.

Big shout out to the House Keepers we never saw you but new you had been every day.

We would thoroughly recommend Bedarra Island and if you are going get the Chopper. Thanks to all the Bedarra Team we had a fabulous holiday.

Date of stay: January 2023
Thank dianecE5329PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 5, 2023 via mobile

We saved for a long time to visit here, it was totally worth every penny.
We stayed for 5 nights in two different villas. Both villas were amazing. 1st Villa was Nautilius - this had amazing views of the beach. 2nd Villa was North East, this had a view out to Dunk Island without a view of the beach. I really don’t think you could choose a wrong Villa, they all have spectacular views.
Staff were all fabulous, genuinely friendly and always there to help. Service is laid back and it is fabulous that they have the time to chat and tell us a bit about themselves.
The food! Absolutely delicious. The breakfast menu is spectacular and they always have a special that changes daily. The Nasi Goreng was truly a treat.
We had the staff drop off at an island for a picnic , make sure you make the time for this. It was such a great experience and the lunch that was packed for us was just beautiful.
Thank you to every single staff member, this resort would not run as smoothly without all the wonderful staff behind the scenes.
Hope to return someday.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jtraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews