We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christine W
San Remo, Australia

Disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 8, 2014
We stayed over New Years Eve for five nights
Beautiful views but reef disappointing only a couple of sandy beaches other wise just coral beaches
We found that it wasn't valve for money
No choice of food -just placed in front of you !!
Could recommend the seafood platter which you have to pay extra to have
Rooms very nice
Didn't like the set up of the bar.
Disappointing having to ask for beach towels and toilet paper
When we boarded the boat to go across to Bedarra they said it was better than Lizard island
sorry it's no comparison
Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBedarra, General Manager at Bedarra Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jan 10, 2014
Dear Christine W

Thank you for staying with us at Bedarra over the New Year's Eve period. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and the seafood platter.

As an all-inclusive island resort set in a beautiful location, offering all gourmet meals, alcoholic and non- alcoholic beverages, free standing private villas and the use of water sports equipment as part of our tariffs we feel that we offer excellent value to guests.

To celebrate New Year's Eve at Bedarra during your stay we provided cocktails and canapés at sunset, live music & a seven course degustation menu which included Foie-gras imported from France, Caviar from USA and Cave Ripened Cheese from Spain, each course served with matching boutique wines, all at no additional cost to our guests.

Bedarra enjoys two glorious white sandy beaches directly in front of the resort, and another three private and sandy beaches within a leisurely 5-10 minute paddle on our sea kayaks. There is only one coral beach on the island which is a great location for beachcombing. In addition there are another 12 surrounding islands in the Family Island group, each offering beautiful beaches to relax on and are easily accessed with one of our motorized guest dinghies, the use of which are included in our tariff.

We apologize that you were required to ask for extra pool towels or toilet paper during your stay. We try and keep all our guest amenities fully stocked at all times, unfortunately on very rare occasions we fail to keep up with demand. We will always rectify any issue as soon as it is brought to our attention and we are sorry you experienced one of our rare lapses in attention to detail.

There are many beautiful island resorts along the coast of Queensland and we do not compare ourselves nor profess to be better than any of these other excellent resorts. Bedarra is unique and special - we try to offer an informal and relaxed island experience with an attentive yet not overbearing level of service to our guests.

We are always seeking ways to improve our service and appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Kayla & Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱6,764
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
9.8 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    ₱7,017
  • Hotels.com
9.9 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱16,726
  • Hotels.com
10.6 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    ₱3,870
  • Hotels.com
12.6 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Take a Dip!!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    ₱3,172
  • Hotels.com
12.8 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,451
  • Hotels.com
13.8 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱12,125
  • Hotels.com
15.4 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    ₱8,067
  • Hotels.com
15.9 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    ₱5,661
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
16.4 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Pool area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    ₱2,999
  • Hotels.com
16.4 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bedarra Island
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail hour plunge pool beach house other guests picnic lunch our honeymoon mission beach helicopter ride private dining behind the scenes sea legs matching wines moment you arrive every staff member barefoot luxury absolute paradise large deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 447 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'm just going to keep it simple and say what an unforgettable place this is. My husband and I enjoyed our 2nd honeymoon here which also included his birthday and New Year's Eve. The staff are magnificent, nothing is too much trouble and they pretty much think of everything before you do anyway. They set up a private setting on the beach for my husband's birthday dinner and brought him a cake complete with birthday chorus from the staff! The ultimate in barefoot luxury, you really do feel like it's your home to come and go as you please. We had amazing weather and to look around and think that only 3 years earlier, the island was wiped out by a cyclone, the recovery is amazing! Cannot recommend highly enough, we hope to go back one day.

Room tip: We stayed in No. 15 pavilion, with it's own plunge pool and stunning views of the bay and beach below. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just had our first taste of Bedarra for Christmas and were incredibly lucky with the amazing weather over what is meant to be the wet season. The team are fantastic, helpful and friendly, and everything runs so smoothly thanks to the excellent management by Jason and Kayla. Loved the beach picnic, the kayak around the island and the wonderful food- thanks John and Jimmy, it was awesome. 4 days wasn't enough and we are definitely trying to juggle dates for this year to go back for longer. It really is paradise.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Oh where to begin, other than sat in the lounge at Cairns airport having just had another 6 amazing nights on Bedarra over Christmas!

Sam & Kerri-Ann, you really have enhanced the team with your new joint GMs - Jas & Kayla - excellent team! Other new faces that we got to know, Martika and Riley, and oh Jimmy has a new partner in crime in the kitchen - John. A fabulous culinary duo they make who I am sure will come back next season with some amazing asian cuisine sensations after their foodie trip!

Sometimes when you book to go back somewhere, you have such high expectations and secretly wonder if it will be as good as it was the first time..... well we had no need to worry, as soon as we stepped off that helicopter onto the warm sands and greeted by Jason & Kayla, it had that lovely familiar coming home feeling. We loved everything and could fault NOTHING. We had seven days of glorious sunshine, cloudless skies, private beach picnics taking the dinghies out, seeing beautiful fish, turtle and lots of rays. Again we stayed in the same room - Pavillion which is stunning with fab views across the bay.

Honestly what is there not to like about Bedarra? It really is the one place that we unwind in less than 24 hours and get into the swing of our down time holiday following hectic worklife schedules.

Thank you to the Bedarra family for an amazing time and Christmas and hoping you all have a fantastic New Year filled with everything good, you all deserve it. Elyza - I hope to see you next year with some new wines perhaps from your travels?????

We will be back in 2014 which all our friends know is an accolade to Bedarra, as we never go back to the same place more than once, and we're already planning trip 3.

All the best
Maria & Mike

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzieMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Bedarra Island resort. Brilliant. Luxury, delicious food, complete privacy, beautiful surroundings and friendly, attentive staff. My only whinge, if I had to find one, is that there is no room service. But you know what? Who cares. This was a dream holiday in a dream location.

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Recently returned from five amazing nights on Bedarra and can't wait to return next year!
From start to finish there was nothing that could have been done any better.
The new managers Kayla and Jason were two of the loveliest people you could ever meet, nothing was ever too much trouble and you were always greeted with a warm smile.
The chefs Jimmy and John were fabulous as were the wait staff Elyza and Martika.
One of the highlights was taking a little adventure by dinghie to Hudson island complete with our
gourmet hamper. Really quite hysterical as we are not boating experts but that didn't matter.
If you want to just relax and watch the world go by then there really is no better place!!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews