We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jane B
Townsville, Australia

As good as we hoped

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 2, 2014
We just had our first taste of Bedarra for Christmas and were incredibly lucky with the amazing weather over what is meant to be the wet season. The team are fantastic, helpful and friendly, and everything runs so smoothly thanks to the excellent management by Jason and Kayla. Loved the beach picnic, the kayak around the island and the wonderful food- thanks John and Jimmy, it was awesome. 4 days wasn't enough and we are definitely trying to juggle dates for this year to go back for longer. It really is paradise.
Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,695
  • Hotels.com
9.9 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱16,726
  • Hotels.com
10.6 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,990
  • Hotels.com
12.6 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,451
  • Hotels.com
13.8 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱12,125
  • Hotels.com
15.4 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱9,886
  • Hotels.com
15.9 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,146
  • Hotels.com
17.0 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reef
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.3 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.1 km from Bedarra Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Bedarra Island
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
425
17
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail hour plunge pool beach house other guests picnic lunch our honeymoon mission beach helicopter ride private dining behind the scenes sea legs matching wines moment you arrive every staff member barefoot luxury absolute paradise large deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 447 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Oh where to begin, other than sat in the lounge at Cairns airport having just had another 6 amazing nights on Bedarra over Christmas!

Sam & Kerri-Ann, you really have enhanced the team with your new joint GMs - Jas & Kayla - excellent team! Other new faces that we got to know, Martika and Riley, and oh Jimmy has a new partner in crime in the kitchen - John. A fabulous culinary duo they make who I am sure will come back next season with some amazing asian cuisine sensations after their foodie trip!

Sometimes when you book to go back somewhere, you have such high expectations and secretly wonder if it will be as good as it was the first time..... well we had no need to worry, as soon as we stepped off that helicopter onto the warm sands and greeted by Jason & Kayla, it had that lovely familiar coming home feeling. We loved everything and could fault NOTHING. We had seven days of glorious sunshine, cloudless skies, private beach picnics taking the dinghies out, seeing beautiful fish, turtle and lots of rays. Again we stayed in the same room - Pavillion which is stunning with fab views across the bay.

Honestly what is there not to like about Bedarra? It really is the one place that we unwind in less than 24 hours and get into the swing of our down time holiday following hectic worklife schedules.

Thank you to the Bedarra family for an amazing time and Christmas and hoping you all have a fantastic New Year filled with everything good, you all deserve it. Elyza - I hope to see you next year with some new wines perhaps from your travels?????

We will be back in 2014 which all our friends know is an accolade to Bedarra, as we never go back to the same place more than once, and we're already planning trip 3.

All the best
Maria & Mike

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzieMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Bedarra Island resort. Brilliant. Luxury, delicious food, complete privacy, beautiful surroundings and friendly, attentive staff. My only whinge, if I had to find one, is that there is no room service. But you know what? Who cares. This was a dream holiday in a dream location.

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Recently returned from five amazing nights on Bedarra and can't wait to return next year!
From start to finish there was nothing that could have been done any better.
The new managers Kayla and Jason were two of the loveliest people you could ever meet, nothing was ever too much trouble and you were always greeted with a warm smile.
The chefs Jimmy and John were fabulous as were the wait staff Elyza and Martika.
One of the highlights was taking a little adventure by dinghie to Hudson island complete with our
gourmet hamper. Really quite hysterical as we are not boating experts but that didn't matter.
If you want to just relax and watch the world go by then there really is no better place!!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed on Bedarra Island for 5 nights for our honeymoon and enjoyed every single minute.

You are welcomed with a refreshing cocktail and very friendly staff. Kayla and Jas went over and beyond our expectations. Nothing was ever too much hassle.

All staff were truly amazing from the chefs jimmy and john to the food service staff Eliza and Matika! Every single one of them make your Bedarra experience just that little more special.

Definitely take a dinghie out to the surrounding islands and have a lunch on your own private island!

Definitely pay the extra to have your own plunge pool!

This little piece of paradise is something not to be missed.

Date of stay: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from five nights on Bedarra and already wishing we were back there! When we arrived Sam said he wanted us to feel like it was our own beach house (albeit with amazing people behind the scenes making everything appear so effortless!) and we certainly got that feeling. We chose Bedarra as the thought of barefoot luxury appealled. After a very busy year and we needed to just unwind and this was the perfect place to do it. There is very little to do on the island so you don't feel like you have to make any effort... just sleep, eat, drink, read your book and maybe sleep and eat some more...

The food was amazing and John did a fantastic job producing new and interesting meals every day. We really enjoyed talking with him about food and watching him cook in the open kitchen. All the staff we talked with were relaxed and friendly and really contributed to making our holiday so wonderful. We liked the freedom to walk up to the fridge to help ourselves to drinks or a cheese platter and we had fun making our own cocktails before dinner!

Do
... take a boat to an island with a picnic
... have the seafood dinner
... make the effort to walk to the lookouts as you will appreciate the view.

This is not the island to choose if you want to be waited on hand and foot and dress in glitz for dinner. It is the place if you want to unwind, feel special and enjoy the company of your partner

Room tip: Rooms with terraces and day beds are worth it
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bilnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews