We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves ever accolade ”

The Mexican - Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 84 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$14 - US$31
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: The Mexican - Port Douglas takes a fresh, light approach to traditional Mexican dishes. You are sure to find an old favourite right alongside something you've never tried before! We have a full service bar slinging the town's best Margaritas, using 100% agave tequilas. So, whether you are stopping by for afternoon cocktail, a full dinner or an order of fresh, hot churros & coffee... The Mexican is here for you!
Restaurant details
Description: The Mexican - Port Douglas takes a fresh, light approach to traditional Mexican dishes. You are sure to find an old favourite right alongside something you've never tried before! We have a full service bar slinging the town's best Margaritas, using 100% agave tequilas. So, whether you are stopping by for afternoon cocktail, a full dinner or an order of fresh, hot churros & coffee... The Mexican is here for you!
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

This place consistently produces cutting edge Mexican food .I love their ceviche. No better dish reflects their ability and their love of the tropics.aprt from their freezing slush margaritas .match made in heaven .a must.prebook.locals adore this place so if your coming from out of town book ahead to avoid disappointment .

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank ianePd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

It took us a while to find good vegetarian and gluten free options in Port Douglas and so we were glad we ended up choosing the Mexican.
The staff were friendly and the menu dealt easily with our dietary requirements. The food was really good and the drinks were equally impressive including a lovely sangria and mocktails for the girls. Such a good choice.

Date of visit: April 2021
3  Thank nickt844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Great way to finish a 3 night stay in Port Douglas. Amazing fresh food and cocktails!
Johnny’s Magarita is a must.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank woofiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

One of our faves in PD. The food is always fresh and served quickly, even when they’re busy. Definitely recommend booking as it’s only a small venue and very popular. Beef burritos and chicken fajitas were fantastic and a great selection of beers and cocktails.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Aussie_2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2021

We had eaten here before and loved the food. Perhaps we ordered the wrong item on the menu.

We ordered burritos and I have to say that at double of fast food Mexican, I cant say that the food quality was much better. Really disappointed this time around

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank sepol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican - Port Douglas also viewed

 

Been to The Mexican - Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.