We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveler rating
686
602
320
151
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
686
602
320
151
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar buffet breakfast pool area table tennis tennis courts garden view shuttle bus one bedroom apartment great pool family holiday the main street qt gym lap oaks port kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

I stayed at Oaks Resort Port Douglas over Easter with my two children (aged 14 years and 10 years). We had a lovely time and the highlights were the amazing pool and the wonderful staff. The pool is possibly the best we have experienced in terms of its size, features (hideaway spas and crooks and crannies) and child friendliness - and availability of sun beds ... and the swim up bar! If you have kids, teens or toddlers, this is the pool for you! And yet it is so big, with all the crooks and crannies, adults of all ages can enjoy it in peace too! And now for the staff - these folk seriously do an amazing job. There is a team of about 7 and they seem to work non-stop to manage the whole resort - and always smiling and so happy to help with any request. I was honestly in awe at their stamina, professionalism, ability to work under pressure and yet remain courteous and generous. They are the A Team! Other noteworthy things to consider - I suggest specifically requesting a room with good wifi - we had a ground floor room and the wifi was pretty sketchy. In general I would request an upper floor room as they seemed to have lovely views but our ground floor room didn’t have much of an outlook. Having said that, our room (2 bedroom apartment) was so SPACIOUS and my teenaged daughter basically had a one-bedroom apartment to herself, which she loved!! The food was great and even though the menu was limited, the food itself was excellent! The breakfasts were magnificent and served with a Covid-Safe smile (thanks to the wonderful Maria and other members of the team). Another important tip - if you book a package you need to get one that specifically includes House Keeping - it is not automatically included. We only found that out after a couple of days (!). Still, Machiyo at reception and the Housekeeping staff generously topped up our teabags and shampoos and conditioners when we needed them! The Resort is very close to town and the shuttle service is speedy, reliable and super convenient! All up, I absolutely commend the staff at Oaks Resort Port Douglas for their dedication and stamina in providing a friendly, smooth and efficiently run Resort, and I can recommend it highly if you are looking for a relaxing and refreshing, family-friendly, tropical oasis experience in Port Douglas!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Gimiabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet Gulati , General Manager at Oaks Port Douglas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gimiabreak,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed amazing review. It was a pleasure to hear that you had such a memorable experience with us and you enjoyed the attentive service provided by our team. Please know that we are always committed to providing the finest service and facilities to our guests who hopefully will leave with many fond memories. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Gurpreet Gulati
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

The good:
The resort grounds are gorgeous! The swimming pool is large and has plenty of sun lounges and chairs - easy to get at any time of day. The kids pool area is fantastic for toddlers and offers it's own space away from the busier side of the pool. Cocktails at pool bar are delicious (but quite a long wait time). The two bedroom apartments are spacious and the washer / dryer was fantastic. Breakfast in the dining area was nice with a great view and not too badly priced at $25 (kids half price). View from ground floor pool view room was beautiful.

The not so good:
Customer service was lacking at Oaks and wait times were long - it was clear though that staff were very much under the pump so perhaps this explains it? The entry pad on our front door didn't work properly and after changing the keys three times, it still only worked intermittently so we came often came in via the back sliding door. Our connecting room had an overwhelming smell of mould. I raised this concern with the staff on front desk on day 1 - they said housekeeping would follow up but this never happened and the smell remained strong for the full week. We booked through Agoda and were very disappointed to learn on day 2 that housekeeping was not included even though we were staying for a week! We reached out to Agoda's support number and zero help was provided - so be wary - read the very fine print!!

Overall:
Heaps of potential and a beautiful resort but staff need to lift in the customer service department and the rooms need a refurb in the near future. I would stay again though because the resort is affordable and enjoyable for families.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank adelaideeatie2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet Gulati , General Manager at Oaks Port Douglas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear adelaideeatie2019,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I truly appreciate your feedback about the resort and the staff. Feedback like such help us improve and provide the experiences we wish for every guest. I 'm glad you feel positive about the resort and would continue to stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Regards,
Gurpreet Gulati
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

We are suffering from COVID but if I am going to resort to support my local Australian & get treated as if you bought a package deal ...your not entitled to house keeping for 6 nights you have to pay for it (we had to go to the front desk to get new towels, soap & toilet paper in a plastic bag wtf) & not enough stuff in the pool bar...happy hour 4-5pm (non existent as the pool bar didn’t have on tap beer & the other bar opened 5:30pm)....same breakfast for 6 days...coffee machine broken in breakfast bar & pool bar...you had to pay $5-$6 for a very bad coffee ...
Resort is lovely but no service no money

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank MariaS16300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet Gulati , General Manager at Oaks Port Douglas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MariaS16300,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I do regret that you were disappointed with your recent stay. It is evident that we have fallen short of the expectation that we have set for ourselves and what you are certainly entitled to expect. We assure you that your feedback has been discussed with our whole team so we can avoid a similar experience in the future and improve from here. Once again, thank you and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards,
Gurpreet Gulati
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2021

The facilities are good specially swimming pool and common areas. Rooms are clean and have all the essential facilities. Kichen is nice but lack toaster. Batrhroms are neat and clean. Air-Con are effective.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank anilg0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet Gulati , General Manager at Oaks Port Douglas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear anilg0404,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for the lovely feedback. I'm pleased to know you had a wonderful stay at the resort. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Regards,
Gurpreet Gulati
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

The rooms need an upgrade. Our aircon was rattling in room 4222, the TV remote didn’t work and the swipe to get in is touchy and doesn’t always work.
If you booked with luxury escapes your room doesn’t get serviced at all which was really disappointing as a week with two kids you definitely need it cleaned!
The breakfast buffet needs an upgrade and there are no healthy food options in the restaurant menu which is not sustainable for a week long trip.
Pool bar is lovely and the pool is a highlight of the resort.
I would also like to highlight the poor welcome from the front of house manager when we arrived. Not much personality and when an excited group turns up so happy to start their holiday a warmer welcome would be a nice way to start the trip. I think this is a vital part of the experience as it sets the tone of the resort.
We wouldn’t rebook again

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank lisacurtis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet Gulati , General Manager at Oaks Port Douglas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear lisacurtis31,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is evident that we have fallen short of the expectation that we have set for ourselves and what you are certainly entitled to expect. We assure you that your feedback has been discussed with our whole team so we can avoid a similar experience in the future and improve from here. Once again, thank you and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards,
Gurpreet Gulati
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews