We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hi Tide

Hi Tide
Ranked #14 of 133 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For a long while Hi Tide Cafe, Bar, Restaurant has been a local's secret, and no wonder because this is as close to a beachfront hideaway as it gets in the middle of Port Douglas. Indeed, if you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Macrossan Street and enjoy a home style meal or one of our nightly specials, a cocktail or cool beer with the soft sea breeze the tide will bring you here. Nestled oceanside in the Peninsula Boutique Hotel. Hi Tide looks directly out onto 4 Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. It's cool without being over designed, warm and welcoming without sacrificing a certain sophistication and, well, they have the most amazing cocktail selection.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Great food beside the beach. Would strongly advise to book beforehand. Service was very good the waiter even gave us extra bug spray as it was very humid and the mosquitoes were out that evening.

Thank soh0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Owner at Hi Tide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your kind words. We appreciate the feedback and we are happy to know you enjoyed your time at Hi Tide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

An attractive restaurant facing the sea. Unfortunately it was dark so we couldn’t see it, but I imagine it’s a lovely view for lunch.

Food was pretty good. Highlights were the pork belly starter (loads of crackling) and the passion fruit pannacotta.
Everything else was very good, but we’d had a better variant elsewhere. E.g kids bolognese at Sassi, battered fish at Lure.

It’s certainly worth being on a place to try if you visit.

Thank BigBobW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Owner at Hi Tide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks Big Bob for your review, we appreciate the feedback and your visit to Hi Tide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Nice ocean view but pity is was raining. Staff were delightful and did their best to accommodate us. Loved the coffee the best in town.

Thank lounginglizard9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHMgmt, Owner at Hi Tide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for leaving a review. We agree our coffee is the best so we are glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully you get the chance to revisit when the sun is out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

we had a lovely lunch today.so fresh and tasty.staff were very friendly and attentative.my partner loved the burger and fries.mine was yum.we wil be back.thankyou.

Thank shelbystar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRB_11, Owner at Hi Tide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words. It's great to know you enjoyed your lunch. I will pass on your comments to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

As Brits on holiday from the UK husband and I were desperate for a drink on the afternoon of Good Friday (32deg+). Queensland legislation in its own particular strain of wisdom has decreed that absolutely no alcohol without food is the way to go. Note to Queensland legislators - not everybody wants to eat a full meal in such baking heat - just a drink would go down a treat! While trawling the town we came across Hi Tide and booked an early dinner at 1915. Just under 2 hours later and on the verge of wanting to murder each other through pure dehydration and desperation we made our way back to Hi Tide and asked if we could have a drink although dinner would not be cooked for over an hour later. The lovely Michael gently explained that this was something he could not do but offered to bring our booking forward to 1730. Knowing we had only a few bottles of water back in our holiday rental appt we accepted. Equally lovely Aaron mixed probably the best ever pina colada I can remember ever drinking. Fish of the day was mahi mahi with a perfect veg slaw and asian dressing. Dreamy. The chardonnay Michael recommended went down a treat as did the pudding - panna cotta with pasionfruit, coconut and small piece of meringue. Slight breeze coming in through the trees that separated us from the 4-mile-beach provided the icing on the cake. Would recommend this place to anybody who asked for advice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRB_11, Owner at Hi Tide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Maureen thank you so much for your wonderful review, it means a lot to us and our team to know you enjoyed your experience at Hi Tide. We appreciate you taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi Tide also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Hi Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing