We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$274
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$187
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
68
154
75
37
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
154
75
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshibiscus roomlake stlate flightminute walkwashing machinetown centreair conspacious roomthe ground floorfresh towelscairns esplanadenight staystayed nightslaundry facilitiespleasant staypoolskitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We tried to eat at this restaurant 3 days ago and saw that it closed at 21:00, we arrived at 20:40 and was told that as the kitchen had to do some room service meals we could not have dinner.

We was a bit disappointed but decided to try again later this week. We went back tonight and arrived at around 7pm. There was a few people in the restaurant but it was not busy, there was one waitress working.

We asked if we could sit anywhere and she barked back at us that we had to sit on either this table or that one, I politely asked if we could sit in the corner as where she wanted us to sit was right next to a table of 7 people eating and talking. She again snapped that no we can’t as that table is not prepared! ( the table we wanted to sit on was clean)

All through out our time there this waitress was rude and not very professional. She seemed under pressure but the restaurant was not busy enough for her to be under pressure to make her attitude towards us acceptable.

The reason we went there was because we heard the ribs were realy good, they were good but we left with a sour taste in our mouths because of the waitress attitude!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tim c,
Thank you for your review, we are most pleased to read your comment regarding the Steak on Lake evening meal, our char-grilled pork ribs were really good and met your dining expectations!
We have also addressed immediate the service issue that you encountered. We very much hope to see you again and you will be able to see the improvements that have been made are already in place .

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This was our first stop on a nine daytour of Queemsland and the only hotel in which we got a freshly cooked breakfast which was excellent.
Staff could not have been kinder and more helpful.
The only downside is that rooms and common areas are quite dated.
.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear John K,
Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfast and that our staff were helpful and made your stay enjoyable. All noted and I do hope you find the time to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Emma & the team at the Cairns Queenslander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2018

It has two swimming pools but one is mostly used and clean. Friendly staff, the restaurant has good Hot buffet breakfast and steak for lunch and dinner.
You can leave your luggage after check out if you have a late night flight. There is a guest room that you can use to shower before your flight. You also can stay in the hotel (not in your room as you have checked out) and use the swimming pool and other facilities.
Family friendly.

Room Tip: Room 220 faces the swimming pool. Good if your kids can swim by themselves while you are enjoying your wine from the room balcony
Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Paris881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Paris881
Thank you for your great review on our family friendly accommodation. We are so pleased to know you have had great time with us. We wish you all the best and hopefully see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I am a writer and a hotel critic and I reckon if the staff had known that, they would have put me into a different part of this tragedy. On arrival the woman behind the counter was pleasant and that's the end of the good part. There is two car parks to this complex which are both gravel so you have to lug your luggage for some distance, depending on what part of the building you are in and if your on the second or third floor. On the northern end you have to also lug your luggage up flights of stairs unless you walk all the way down to the other end of the building and get the lift in which you have to walk all the way back to your room again whilst walking around the cigarette butts left on the floor. It gets worse, on entering the room your key has to go into a slot in the wall for the power to work. Only one key was given to me so if I left the room the other person was sitting in darkness. Not that that would be a problem as the room was nothing like what it is advertised and was an eyesore. I booked a mimosa two bedroom apartment and had a colleague staying over so I requested a queen size bed and a double bed. Unfortunately, my request was ignored and my colleague who is a grown man had to make do with a single bed. The bedrooms had no clothes hangers, no clothes draws, and no wardrobe, absolutely nowhere to put unpack your clothes and had no bedside tables. The bed was average as was the pillow. The kitchen was absolutely tiny and very old with a fridge that was half sized as we had to take out shelves to stand up 375 ml bottles. The kitchen table looked like it had been bought from an op-shop fifty years ago and the chairs were rock hard. The television was so small that when we watched a game of football we didn't know what the score was because the screen was that small. The lounge seat was uncomfortable and looked dirty and the balcony outside was available to neighbours. The railing on the balcony was dangerous as it was jagged with rust. Had children been staying in this room it would have been a major problem. Needs refurbishing in a hurry. By the way there is no recyclable bins. Luckily I was only there for one night. The apartment overall was disgusting and disgraceful. If I could give it a zero out of five I would.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Andrew M
Thank you for your review. As general manager your review has been taken most seriously and since your stay, I have made a point of asking other guests who have been allocated that same room their opinion. The feedback we have received has been truly fantastic, the guests are very happy and do not wish to room move.

You mention you are a hotel critic, please can I suggest during your next hotel stay please do consider requesting to meet in person hotel management and allow them the opportunity to resolve any issue whilst you are at the property to your personal satisfaction.

I do hope whilst you were in Cairns you enjoyed this truly amazing tropical north region of Australia.

Kind regards

Emma Lardner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

The ONLY good thing going for this hotel is the FOH staff. Friendly, polite, attentive.
(Did not eat at the restaurant so cannot speak for that either)

We booked the Hibiscus room because we thought it was a tad 'Superior', and we were told it had hot plates, which we needed.

Get to the room (305); no stove top, filthy sink/kitchenette area, like it was wiped down with Windex.
Bed sheet dirty on main bed.
Bedding wasn't changed on single bed from last guest.
Floor felt dirty when walking bare foot.
Bathroom was clean although, a near empty roll of toilet paper was dressed, with only one roll spare.
No bathroom fan with window opening onto corridor (no fly screen).
Luggage drop near front door was disgusting. After opening up the cupboard, we found all sorts of cr*p in there.


Your house keeping department either need more assistance, or they need to be RE trained.. or trained.

After reading these reviews, I find that none get replied to anyway. Which shows just how much you really do care.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Brody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Brody M

Thank you for your review. Regarding hot plate? inside your kitchenette cupboard was an electric fan pan provided for your convenience, however, if you had mentioned to any of our reception staff your personal need of a hot plate one could have been immediately provided and any other issue addressed to your personal satisfaction.

Cairns Queenslander provides a 24 hour manned reception and as you mention staff are friendly, polite and attentive. Certainly if contacted we can assist all our valued guests during their stay with us.

Cairns and this area of North Queensland offers so much to see and do, I do hope you find the time to visit this area again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Emma Lardner



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews