We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$270
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$127
US$122
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$374
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveler rating
815
1,024
395
94
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
1,024
395
94
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeholiday innbarramundiwarm cookiestour deskbottle shopocean viewbuffet breakfastexcellent locationtravel deskshort walkduty managerbit datedport douglasthe great barrier reefan upgradevisit cairns
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I'm from Chester in the UK and we have a Doubletree by Hilton here and I suppose I expected the same standard of hotel as here. Ours is a beautiful, classy boutique hotel worthy of the Hilton brand. This Cairns version however is far from that and when I found out it used to be a Holiday Inn in the past, it made absolute sense.

I can't say there was anything particularly bad about our stay, it was just that the hotel felt dated and the rooms were very basic. Staff were ok but nothing more than that. The location is central, you just walk straight down into town within a few minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCAIRNS2014, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Shantele72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cairns.

We know that how our guestrooms look is very important. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis.

Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Warm Regards
John Lucas
General Manager`

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved the area. Very vibrant and interesting
The hotel had all amenities as expected
One hour free wifi was available each day but had to pay $10 every 24 hours for room wifi.
Small pool with around 20 beds. Not really enough for the size of the hotel, although most people tend to be on trips during the day.
The hotel is popular with the Asian community and caters for them, although not exclusively
Rooms were spacious but the beds were not as comfortable as other hotels. When one person moved the other person had sleep interrupted.
The bathroom was small and cramped and the shower was in the bath which I personally am not a fan of.
The bar was not very busy and quite expensive so we ate at various restaurants along the esplanade.
Breakfast was plentiful but I did not have one breakfast that was hot. I took this up with the staff who said they would look at the heat settings. This did not improve so I took to selecting my plate of food and then asking them to microwave it for me. They were happy to do this but the problem needs solving.
It was well situated by the front and within easy access of the shops etc.
The indoor night market was very interesting and several trips are available. These can be booked through local agents or through the the hotel tour operator. We booked the Kuranda tour and snorkelling on the reef.
I would say the that Sue the tour operator has been doing the job too long. She is obviously knowledgable and experienced but pays lip service to concerns and questions. This was our opinion and of others we spoke to.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank richardj917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCAIRNS2014, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear richardj917,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

With your comment in regards to the in room internet it is $9.95 per 24 hours or complimentary for all Hilton HHonors members who book direct with us. Membership is free and benefits are available upon sign up.

Sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience at breakfast. I have pass your feedback onto the Food and Beverage Manager to action and improve immediately.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Warm Regards
John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

My partner and I, stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints, it's very clean, rooms are spacious, lovely pool area, right near the sea, 10 minute walk to the harbour, loads of shops, bars and restaurants close by. Jessica, on reception was very helpful on a couple of occasions. The staff really take care of you. Would love to stay here again

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank OXD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCAIRNS2014, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear OXD2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cairns.

Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and that you experienced our warm and caring service. You can always count on us for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to hotel again soon.

Warm Regards
John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The staff in this hotel were second to none. The girls at the front desk were very friendly (and generous with the cookies for my sweet-toothed mum!), and the guys in the restaurant and concierge desk were very efficient and pleasant.

This hotel also had a great breakfast buffet in the morning which caters to everyone's tastes. The pool was brilliant and was never busy when we stayed there. We also had a great view over the ocean from our very comfortable and clean room.

It's about a 10 minute walk from the heart of cairns and the tour operators we scheduled day trips with picked us up right from the door.

Room Tip: We thought it was worth paying the extra for the gorgeous sea view
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCAIRNS2014, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Laura M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cairns.

Delighted to hear you experienced our warm and caring service. We are committed to maintaining high standards of service to ensure our guests have a rewarding experience.

Our buffet breakfast offers a variety of hot and cold breakfast favourites. Our culinary team use fresh local ingredients and are passionate creating good quality food for our guests. Pleased to hear you enjoy it.

The hotel is the perfect place to sit back and relax or explore all of what Cairns has to offer. You can always count on us for a comfortable stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon for the best travel experience.

Warm Regards
John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2016

The stay started awkwardly. Their address is on The Esplanade. So we parked on The Esplanade where the nav system told us. There is a Doubletree sign on the corner. But no reception desk or sign to a reception desk. Reception was actually over 400 ft away on Abbott Street. Hard to find in the dark. But Elise was excellent at check-in. It was over 100 degrees the next day. We left early in the morning and came back exhausted in the evening. Our room keys didn't work. The manager, Ritesh, came but could not open our room. He said he would change the batteries right away. Their is no A/C outside the rooms. After 15 minutes, he asked us our names and said the room was locked from inside? But we were travelling alone and no one should have been in the room. He said he'd have to call an engineer. To make it worse, our elevator broke while we tried to go down to the lobby. I asked if he would mind buying us dinner (in the 100 seat lobby restaurant that had only one diner)? He refused saying "I couldn't do that." It took over an hour to get the door open. By then my wife was too tired to go out. So I went to the bottle shop on the ground floor to buy some Champagne. I was told the "hotel internet system is down" and they could not make a sale. After that, they quit bringing water or newspapers to our room even though we were on the "Hhonors" floor. It took 2 more days to fix the elevator; so we had extended waits every time we wanted to go up or down. The carpet in Room 602 is ripped. And a potted plant in the courtyard which was tipped over when we arrived was still tipped over when we left 4 days later. No one is really taking care of this property or it's guests. I can't believe they still get to suck in HiltonHhonors members.

Room Tip: Best to avoid this hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTCAIRNS2014, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Jim A,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent
We sincerely apologize for the downfall in service and expectation that you had experienced during your stay with us. We take on board your constructive feedback and look at every opportunity to improve the guest experience and level of satisfaction experienced by all our guests.

DoubleTree by Hilton prides itself on excellent customer service and the delivery of exceptional outcomes. On this occasion we have failed you in delivering upon these standards that you quite rightly deserve.

We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Warm Regards
John Lucas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews