We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen margaritas!!!”
Review of Hot Tamale

Hot Tamale
Ranked #36 of 392 Restaurants in Darwin
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hot Tamale is the Northern Territories premier Mexican Restaurant and Bar located at the beautiful Darwin Waterfront. Our cuisine is driven by a passion for fresh flavourful Latin American fare, with a focus on Mexico City's wonderful street food as will as the Mexican style from Southern California and Texas. Amazing vibrant flavours. Hot Tamale is also home to the Southern Hemispheres largest collection of Tequilas and Mezcals. A wonderful collection that includes some of the finest tequilas you can purchase. Our cocktail list focuses on highlighting the different variations of tequila mixed perfectly to make beautiful cocktails.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Didn’t eat here this trip, although did a few years ago and the place got me to reappraise tequila as drink because of the range and quality.
Only had some drinks one evening but could have easily settled in if I didn’t have to drive, it was hot humid Darwin night and the frozen lime margarita really hit the spot. Happy hour was very good value for these and sangria and Mexican beers.
The food being served looked good and prices seemed fair.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank burgo1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The place was extremely busy but managed to get a table at the bar at the last minute.

Margaritas were good and food was good too. So much so that our young son ordered seconds!

I would suggest booking though, we were very lucky.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank PaulH268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

Good food but not quite authentically Mexican. Service was quite sketchy and music was American pop?!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Heartspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Omg our first time at hot tamale and it was amazing mango margarita where so good on a hot Darwin day
The friendliness and professional service we from KATIE was awesome. Would highly recommend and we definitely will be back

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Blueeyes122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2021

My fiend and I had planned our darwincation for months including a table at this restaurant tonight

We arrived at the restaurant at 4 pm and was told by Katie the manager that we had a table booked for 630pm and we could have it early if we liked

We had drinks and was told at 630 that we had to vacate the table as it was booked we explained that we had the table booked at 630 the young lady spoke to Katie who relayed the message that our table was taken as we sat at it early and we could sit at the bar for dinner but the table was booked

At no stage did Katie explain that if we took the table early we would lose it in fact when we finally spoke to her about how disappointed we were not to be able to eat despite booking a table she said if we wanted a table for five hours we had to book it for that time never mind that the table was vacant at 4 and was still vacant when we left without dinner

The whole point of us booking a table was to eat dinner

Very disappointedly

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank sherrywR9158NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.