We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time..... not again”
Review of The Cav

The Cav
Ranked #6 of 65 Quick Bites in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

First time I came here, had great steak, good service left feeling warm. Second time, steaks overcooked, undersized, with sauce when ordered without, salads mediocre not matching order. Today... steak undersized, overcooked, salads dud not match order. Very little (1) grassfed option. Won't try again. Sadly this place is just not meeting expectations. Pruce very high, quality very poor.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AndreSnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2018

had a few beers on a previous trip earlier this year and was impressed with the meals that I saw going to tables...this trip we were keen to have a steak and boy we were not disappointed !! all 4 at our table including 2 mildly fussy teenagers loved their choice and cooked to perfection.bonus was sitting inside in the cool and having some terrific live music playing...was a memorable xmas eve in the top end.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TraineeGreyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2018

If you like a Territory steak you cant go past the Cav.. Great out side bar and friendly staff. Great selection of steaks cook to order.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

I stay here every trip now. It has to be the best value hotel in Darwin City.
The rooms are small but nice and clean. (There are some internal rooms without windows so make sure you avoid these if you’re claustrophobic.)
The staff are always super happy and friendly, and there’s always a good atmosphere in the alfresco area.
A large pool fills the space in the middle of the complex, and it has ample day beds and recliners for everyone.
I noticed the shower was really hot this time which is great. In past stays it’s only been luke warm, so it seems like that’s been taken care of.
One downside is a lack of free parking. If you park on the street make sure you don’t forget to buy a ticket in the morning or you’ll get fined.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JeffS758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We use to love the Cav but went a few nights ago after about a year. The service was so slow we waited 50 minutes to get our meal. My meal was ok I had a pie the meat was lovely and tender but the salad looked very tired and the dressing looked suspect so I didn't eat it. My husbands coleslaw was bitter and tasteless. While we were eating a guy was walking around asking people if he could have some food off their plate. He just put his hands on their plate took a sausage from one and then came back for some more. He took half a piece of fish off another person's plate. These stupid people let him get away with it probably because he was an Aboriginal. We were with Aboriginal friends and they were furious and looked for a security guard but we couldn't find one. It has gone down hill very disappointing, the food and service use to be much better. And they need a security guard on by 7pm.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amazons4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cav also viewed

 

Been to The Cav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing