We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A late lunch”
Review of Fortune of War

Fortune of War
Ranked #121 of 6,960 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Fortune of War is Sydney's Oldest Pub - since 1828. Featuring traditional hamper style bar, where you can pull up a stool and chat to a friendly bartender. With live music every Thursday - Sunday, you'll have a great time at Sydney's Oldest Pub! First Fleet Bar & Bistro is located at the back of the Fortune of War, and offers customers a place to relax and dine after a busy day in The Rocks. With a fully stocked bar, table service and a tradition pub-style menu, it is the perfect place to experience a traditional Aussie pub meal.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Impressed!! First impression from the front is not all that great. A small pub on the ground floor, packed with rowdy patrons. Up stairs is a little 40 seat bistro. Stevie our waiter was very pleasant for a 230pm walk in. 3 chicken schnitzels one of those a kids size and a cheese burger. The schnitzel was amazing 9/10. The one point come down to portion size. If you’re hungry this won’t satisfy. My eldest daughter smashed the burger out of the park. Loved it. If the pictures are anything to go off, it was great. Waiter Stevie was amazing and very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kazandgaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDSMarketing, Manager at Fortune of War, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thanks for the great review Kaz! I will definitely pass on the feedback about Stevie to management. Cheers! Hope you see you around next time you visit The Rocks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018

Had our young kids with us, but no problem! We were quickly directed upstairs and had a great time in the small room off to the right. Charming 1/2 story up with a nice little alley view and the feeling of an enclosed sunporch. Super friendly waiter was a nice bonus. Our cousin ordered the kangaroo steak, and we all had our first taste. Can confirm that they are both cute AND tasty. Had a lovely tart cider and just a relaxing respite in the heart of the Rocks.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ILBAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDSMarketing, Manager at Fortune of War, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review for us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to The Rocks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Our good friends that are locals recommended this place. Its in the Rocks Area and supposedly the oldest or one of the oldest bars in all of Sydney. We sat upstairs , just a few tables , and had dinner. It was very good. All 4 of us loved our food, service was quick and pleasant . Definitely would like to go back next time we visit Australia.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank USACorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Read a lot of reviews looking for a real Australian experience. Chose this place and were not disappointed. We ate in the back away from the pub scene up front, but enough sound made it't way back to provide the right ambiance.

A lot of good looking high end pub grub on the menu, but how could I pass up Kangaroo tenderloin? My first taste of kangaroo ever was excellent, very tender and with a quite mild flavor. If it had been given too me as beef I wouldn't have thought anything was strange about it at all.

I hope to return some day with a larger group and enjoy the pub scene up front.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 573dk9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2018

The Fortune of War is full of character and has a good choice of beers and spirits.

Apparently it got its name from being the last port of call for soldiers and seamen off to war and the first venue on their return.

Servicemen past and present also meet here to celebrate Anzac day each year.

We only had drinks, but they have a restaurant and a bistro with a varied menu and were quite busy.

It’s a fascinating historical building and an interesting pub to visit and people watch.

Thanks for the welcome – we enjoyed our brief visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lovetrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortune of War also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fortune of War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing