We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,885)
Filter reviews
2,885 results
Traveler rating
1,556
813
309
130
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,556
813
309
130
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalsh bay suitewaterside roomopera housesydney harbourluna parkrocks areathird floorfabulous locationboutique hotelking roomshort strollbuffet breakfastan easy walkgantrysebelconciergewharf
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 2,885 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Wow.. What a truly amazing hotel. Good rooms you expect from Marriott. Breakfast, lunch and dinner available on site but also close to CBD. Very close to cruise port. Excellent service. Fantastic views, what a dream.

Room Tip: 2nd floor view of pier
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1952Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and every visit has been a great experience. From the moment you walk in the door with your dogs being greeted in the same way that you are you know you are at a hotel that wants to look after you.

The staff are always very attentive to your needs and cannot do enough to ensure you have a fantastic stay.

The breakfast is magnificent and all the other meals I have had there have been great .

I cannot recommend Pier One highly enough

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank GMScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We were going to be in Sydney on two occasions before and after a cruise and decided to stay here based on our preference to avoid huge hotels. What a great decision. The location is perfect with easy walks to the bridge, the Circular Quay and the city, but with no huge hordes of tourists like we saw in the busy part of the city.

We could watch all the boats in the harbor sail past from our room (I highly recommend getting a harbor view room). The food was exceptional. There were weddings there almost every night, so you knew the locals recognized the wonderful location.

The entire staff was first rate from the reception to the restaurant to the concierge with everybody remembering our name and really bending over backwards to make our stay memorable.

I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This hotel used to be our favourite location in Sydney when it was run by Sebel. It used to be quiet and elegant. Unfortunately since being taken over by Marriott we discovered they now appear to be targeting the younger party going generation with loud music and a "tacky" blow up swimming pool attached to the jetty alongside the hotel. The dress code seems to have plummeted to an all time low. Bar service was very slow with indifferent staff. However Maitre D at breakfast was absolutely charming. For the first time, we had rooms located on the ground floor which we had to access via the restaurant pass which was not the greatest. We will find another "favourite hotel" for future stays.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier1Sydney, Executive Assistant at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Colin H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with Pier One Sydney Harbour.
We are so sorry for your less tan ideal experience. We do have different activations along the pier throughout the year however these are not permanent hotel fixtures/facilities. The pool is open during Summer and we have igloos which are Winter activations - It does give guests and patrons alike something more when visiting the hotel. The message of being an Autograph Collection brand is ingrained in what we do - Pier One is 'exactly like nothing else'.
We are happy you enjoyed the service from the Maitre D at breakfast and will pass this on to her Supervisor.
As I am sure you are aware, we do have 3 floors and should you choose Pier One again in the future, please advise reservations agent (prior to your arrival) you would prefer to be allocated on floors 1-3 as opposed the ground floor.

Thank you once again for reviewing your stay with the hotel.

Kind regards,
Kristy Yuen
Executive Assistant


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Visiting from the UK, we stayed at this hotel based on its location, and previous Tripadvisor reviews.

Being in Sydney, this hotel is expensive, so we expected to have a good experience.

First, the hotel's location was great and the staff very helpful.

However, the rooms, corridors and outside areas are all very tired.

In my opinion, the hotel requires a complete refurbishment.

We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RNS436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Executive Assistant at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear RNS436,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the hotel.

We are extremely disappointed to learn that we did not match your expectations in some areas of your stay. We have addressed your comments and sincerely apologise for the falling short on this occasion.
However, we are happy you found the team to be helpful and instinctive to your needs. We too agree, being perched under the Sydney Harbour Bridge is a great location to be in, whether you're a Sydney local or a tourist.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future for a positive experience.

Kind regards,
Kristy Yuen
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews