We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge Hotel, a Suburb Accommodation in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Pasig, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cambridge Hotel, a Suburb Accommodation in Sydney”
Reviewed March 13, 2016

After staying for three days in the central district of Sydney, I transferred hotel that is located in a suburb area. Cambridge Hotel it is. It served as my home for my few remaining days in the city. The hotel is well located in Surry Hills, a part of the city mix with residential and commercial area.

Cambridge Hotel offers large smart rooms and suites that feature great comfort and modern amenities. I stayed at Deluxe Balcony Room. The room was air-conditioned. It was spacious.

I was able to like my room in an instant. It has a king size bed that was too big for a slim Asian guy like me. The bed was so cozy. The room is equipped with cable TV, tea/coffee making facilities, over-sized mirrors, and en-suite bathrooms. The bathroom was good-sized and clean, provided with classy bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 23, 2016
Hi marxtermind,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay, we are delighted that our location was well suited for and you enjoyed your room and our in room amenities, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    1,772
    589
    136
    70
See reviews for
882
1,398
489
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Rozas, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Gentle crew in the hotel, specially Tracy and Alberto, who made big efforts to make our time better.
The hotel is placed close to everywhere, you can go on foot to the bay,. The accomadtion is confortable.

  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank julioo251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2016
Hi julioo251,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found our staff friendly and helpful and in particular Tracey and Alberto they certainly are an asset to the hotel and thank you for recognizing, your kind words have been relayed to them.

It is also pleasing that our location was very well suited for you.

Thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

I will start with the reservation process - which was seamless and quick.

On the day of check in, I made a point of not trying to check in early as it was Mardi Gras the night before and I knew the hotel was fully booked. Check in time was from 14:00 hours, and I arrived after 15:00 hours - but my room was not available until 16:00 hours. The desk clerk was apologetic; however I started paying for the room from 14:00 hours - and the hotel should have managed the housekeeping process better.

With regards to:

- The location, it was excellent.
- The WiFi, it was consistent but weak. At times it felt like I was working on a dial-up modem.
- The room, was dated and in need of redecoration.
- The bed was comfortable.
- The bedding and towels showed their age.
- The housekeeping, was completed late in the day (approximately 16:00 hours) and superficial.
- The reception staff members were friendly and helpful; however when I checked out I was not asked about my stay.

Overall - reality did not match what is on their website. And considering what I paid; not value for money.

Stayed March 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CityBreakGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2016

clean, tidy but dated rooms and foyer.... lifts are very small and claustrophobic. service was friendly. convenience of location was the selling point although room rates were extreme given the local event that weekend

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank I4240CHdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
Hi 14240CHhavidh,

Thankyou for leaving feedback, we are delighted to hear that foubnd our service friendly and our location was well suited.

It is disappointing to know you found our furnishings basic, we do have an ongoing commitment to refreshing and upgrading our décor and furnishings throughout the hotel.

When next you stay you make like to book one of our Deluxe City view rooms , they are very large with a balcony.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2016

An excellent place to stay while in Sydney. Central to all the major areas of Sydney and the Hotel itself is comfortable, clean and very friendly. I thoroughly recommend the Cambridge Hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
Hi Stuart W,

We are pleased to read that you found our lo and you found the comfortable, clean and very friendly location to transport and attractions as well suited for you.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
846 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,969 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₱5,720 - ₱13,010
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing