We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Arts Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central(Sydney)
US$111
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$274
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,702)
Filter reviews
4,702 results
Traveler rating
1,867
1,989
628
144
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,867
1,989
628
144
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillsoxford streetgreat locationbalcony roommuseum stationhyde parkwalking distancefree wifigood sizeopera housepublic transportwould stay againreception staffmini barshort staybuffet breakfastcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 4,702 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Gentle crew in the hotel, specially Tracy and Alberto, who made big efforts to make our time better.
The hotel is placed close to everywhere, you can go on foot to the bay,. The accomadtion is confortable.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank julioo251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Hi julioo251,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found our staff friendly and helpful and in particular Tracey and Alberto they certainly are an asset to the hotel and thank you for recognizing, your kind words have been relayed to them.

It is also pleasing that our location was very well suited for you.

Thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

I will start with the reservation process - which was seamless and quick.

On the day of check in, I made a point of not trying to check in early as it was Mardi Gras the night before and I knew the hotel was fully booked. Check in time was from 14:00 hours, and I arrived after 15:00 hours - but my room was not available until 16:00 hours. The desk clerk was apologetic; however I started paying for the room from 14:00 hours - and the hotel should have managed the housekeeping process better.

With regards to:

- The location, it was excellent.
- The WiFi, it was consistent but weak. At times it felt like I was working on a dial-up modem.
- The room, was dated and in need of redecoration.
- The bed was comfortable.
- The bedding and towels showed their age.
- The housekeeping, was completed late in the day (approximately 16:00 hours) and superficial.
- The reception staff members were friendly and helpful; however when I checked out I was not asked about my stay.

Overall - reality did not match what is on their website. And considering what I paid; not value for money.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank CityBreakGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

clean, tidy but dated rooms and foyer.... lifts are very small and claustrophobic. service was friendly. convenience of location was the selling point although room rates were extreme given the local event that weekend

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I4240CHdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi 14240CHhavidh,

Thankyou for leaving feedback, we are delighted to hear that foubnd our service friendly and our location was well suited.

It is disappointing to know you found our furnishings basic, we do have an ongoing commitment to refreshing and upgrading our décor and furnishings throughout the hotel.

When next you stay you make like to book one of our Deluxe City view rooms , they are very large with a balcony.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

An excellent place to stay while in Sydney. Central to all the major areas of Sydney and the Hotel itself is comfortable, clean and very friendly. I thoroughly recommend the Cambridge Hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi Stuart W,

We are pleased to read that you found our lo and you found the comfortable, clean and very friendly location to transport and attractions as well suited for you.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

We've stayed there 5 or six times, 10-12 days each time. We habitually stay in luxury hotels but we choose the Cambridge for the location (the luxury hotels are down by the harbor). We couldn't be more pleased, obviously, or we wouldn't go back year in and year out.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DFWcoltDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi DFWcoltDad,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay and for choosing to stay with us again, we are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you back again next year.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews