We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,708)
Filter reviews
2,708 results
Traveler rating
897
1,280
390
98
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,280
390
98
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminallobby barbit datedclose to circular quayfew minutes walkbuffet breakfastgeorge streetan upgraderestaurants and barsking room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,708 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and arrived very early on our arrival day. The hotel did their best to make sure a room had been cleaned etc for us before the check in time. This was much appreciated as we had had no sleep on the overnight flight. The room was clean and well presented. The bathroom was ok, not pristine clean but we could live with it. The shower wasn’t very powerful and if like me you have thick long hair a more powerful shower is a must. Again the hairdryer wasn’t very powerful but we could live with that!
The hotel lobby is pretty impressive and I love the way the rooms are set around it.
The location is fantastic and is a quick few minutes walk to circular quay. There are great views of the opera house from the roof top ( unless a cruise ship is in dock!) and also views of the bridge.
We didn’t have any meals at the hotel.
Tea/coffee facilities are restocked daily and the empty fridge was a godsend to house the kids fruit juices!
Staff were polite and helpful and I’d definitely recommend staying here, perfect location for sightseeing Sydney.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank NicJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear NicJ72,

It is so wonderful to read your review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from our team. It is our team that often leave the longest impression on our guests and so, it is fantastic that you felt that they really made a difference for you throughout your time with us. It is always our wish to understand how our guests feel about us, and so I thank you for sharing this with us.

Best regards,

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My sister and I stayed here for the Bastille Festival recently, so close to everything, we could walk everywhere. We also had some snacks and a couple of quiet drinks in the lobby. Very reasonably priced to where it is located and the breakfast buffet was lovely as well. Only downside is the carpark is a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Danielle S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
It is excellent to know that we were convenient to your needs and that you took advantage to explore Bastille Festival.

We hope that you had a smooth journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here prior to hopping on a cruise ship as it’s close in proximity to Circular Quay. Not the most luxurious but we didn’t choose a hotel for luxury and it fits our purpose completely. Rooms tidy if not a little tired paintwise but staff were fantastic. Would definately stay again!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank shionac219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear shionac219,

We are delighted that we could provide you with a satisfying experience overall and that you took advantage of our stunning location.

 Look forward to welcome you back in the future.  

Best regards,  

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The location is superb and the staffs are very friendly. Rooms are a bit dated and the double beds a little smaller compared to HI Melbourne.
Breakfast was good with very good choices and a nice coffee (this one is better than HI Melbourne).
The only hiccup we experienced was upon check out, we were informed that our supposedly prepaid reservations were not prepaid and needed to pay at check out.
Although not a big issue so long that we don’t get double charged, but it could have been better to inform us at the check in cause we could have no spare $$ for paying the rooms, since we all thought that has been charged when we made the booking months before our arrival.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Veteranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Veteranito,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. It is through such feedback that we can identify our guests' concerns and areas in need of attention. Your feedback is particularly important in helping us to achieve our goal of 100% guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your feedback, and I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming your return again soon!

Best regards,

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights and it couldn't have been more perfect! Location was a few minutes walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House and centrally licated for shops, bars and restaurants at The Rocks. If you're around on a Friday there is a lovely foodie market and a general market on Saturdays 2 blocks from hotel. Hotel rooms are of a good size, clean with all the usual amenities. Breakfasts were plentiful with a great choice of food. The only negative was the shower pressure but would stay again in a heartbeat!!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Caroline W,
Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel

We appreciate your constructive feedback about your in-room experience. Our Engineering team is currently working tirelessly to resolve the temperature issue.
We hope that you had a pleasant trip home.

Kind regards,

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews