We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Huge variety”
Review of Opal Minded

Opal Minded
Ranked #1 of 184 Shopping in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opal Minded is the only opal store in Sydney that mines its own opals. Established in 1989, it is conveniently located in The Rocks, just steps away from the Sydney Opera House. Uncompromising multilingual assistance. Australian opals unset and in pret-a-porter classical and contemporary designs. Duty free prices.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wandered in on my last day in Sydney. I was looking for something for my mother - Opal is her birthstone. Not knowing anything about opals I began asking "stupid questions". Ember (employee on duty) took the time to educate me and explain the different types, color and quality. When we began talking about price, she was gracious when the first few gems were way out of my price range. I really appreciate that she took the time to show me many different options and we finally settled on a pendant necklace. Thanks Ember for making my small purchase just as big a priority as any other.

3  Thank mginsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminded, Sales Executive at Opal Minded, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello again,

I am delighted to hear you were so pleased with your experience in our boutique. It is always a pleasure to share my knowledge of opals and explain the features that make them so beautiful and unique. In the process of buying an opal, the price tag is not as important as is finding a piece that will be truly special for your for years to come, so I am thrilled I was able to help you with that!

My very best wishes and thanks,

Ember Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"precious stones"
in 4 reviews
"left australia"
in 4 reviews
"great shopping experience"
in 4 reviews
"engagement ring"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful pieces"
in 4 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 4 reviews
"sales lady"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful ring"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful collection"
in 3 reviews
"great education"
in 3 reviews
"ear rings"
in 2 reviews
"jewelry pieces"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this store"
in 2 reviews
"great sales"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful store"
in 2 reviews
"visited australia"
in 3 reviews
"valeria"
in 29 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This store came highly recommended. We were assisted by Kayleigh who not only found us a nice pair of earrings, but also was very informative in regards to types of stone, care and cleaning, and overall appearance such that an easy decision was made.

1  Thank James M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Appreciate the one on one attention by staff showing us a wide variety of opal jewelry and then narrowing to our choice by budget, type, and color of stone. Thank you. Purchased items securely packaged for duty free inspection.

2  Thank starlexlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminded, Sales Executive at Opal Minded, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr and Mrs Cooksy,

It was a pleasure to meet you in store and help find the perfect gifts! I’m glad I could take the tax off your purchase for you so you didn’t have to line up at the airport and could relax before your flight. I hope your trip home was comfortable and look forward to seeing you both again next time you’re in Sydney.

Thank you and best wishes,

Ember

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Kayleigh was not only delightful but a very knowledgeable gemologist. She was professional and courteous in helping my wife
Select an opal ring. The pieces are designed by the owner whose mines the stones come from.

3  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminded, Sales Executive at Opal Minded, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ralph

Thank you for your kind words. It was my absolute pleasure to help your wife find the perfect opal ring; they were meant to be together! I would also like to wish you a happy birthday and hope your time in Australia is truly special.

Kindest regards,
Kayleigh O’Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2018

Great place to buy jewellery, the staff is very nice and helpful there, especially Kayleigh :-) If you want to buy unique gift from Australia then this is the place to go.

4  Thank Paweł M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminded, Sales Executive at Opal Minded, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pawel,

I was more than happy to find the perfect pendent for your wife; I know she will love it! I hope you and Kamil had a great time in Australia and look forward to seeing you both next time.

Kind regards,
Kayleigh O’Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Minded also viewed

 

Been to Opal Minded? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing