We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic place”

Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo
Ranked #13 of 478 Quick Bites in Sydney
Price range: US$2 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Harry’s Café de Wheels has proudly served customers for over 80 years, with the likes of Frank Sinatra, Sir Elton John and Prince Harry having been some of the many to sink their teeth into our iconic ‘Tiger’ Pie
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

I tasted the two variants of their pies but sadly, both tastes bland for my palate. Although the price is reasonable, i still won't go back if I have an option to eat some place else.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank junacullador
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Hello.
Thank you for your feedback, we are sad to hear we didn't live up to your expectations. Would you mind sending​ us an email so we can talk further about your review?
marketing@harryscafedewheels.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2019

We went here after a day of sight-seeing in Sydney to try the meat pies. We got there at dusk, and the line was not too long. We didn't have to wait too long either for the food.

The meat pies were so very tasty. The pie crust was great, the fillings tasty, the mushy peas and mash potato toppings added a nice touch. The apple turnover was good as well. Glad we trekked to this location!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank austinamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019
Google Translation

Cheers Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2019

After arriving in the early morning on an overnight trans-Pacific flight, we were fighting hard to stay awake and get adjusted to the local time. We headed off for a walk from our hotel in The Rocks, and decided to make this our lunchtime destination. After meandering around the Circular Quay and through the Royal Botanical Gardens, we arrived here just before noon. There was a pretty long line already, which gave us a chance to look over the menu, but we already knew we were all going to get a meat pie. We got four different pies - beef, beef and mushroom, beef, cheese, and bacon, and chicken and mushroom. We got one of them topped with the mushy peas, which we were a little skeptical about but in fact they were a nice addition. I don't recall the exact price, but I think each plain meat pie was about $5.60 Australian dollars plus $1 for the mushy peas, which is actually a pretty good price IMO. The favorite of the bunch was the beef and mushroom pie. All of them had a nice flaky crust that wasn't too greasy, and the fillings were warm with a decent amount of meat inside. Good stuff, but in the end this probably made us sleepier than we wanted to be because we would fall asleep at 5:00pm later that day.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Leland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2019

This is an iconic place in wooloomooloo, the best pies around. they are served with mash potato or mushy peas if you like. The pie is great, lots of meat and many options. It is next to the wharf so you can have a pie and watch the boats. yummmmm

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WorldTraveller5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you for visiting​.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

On our City Tour of Sydney, we stopped at the Harry's Cafe de Wheels for meat pies & delicious beer selections! VERY Fun Place for casual dining!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank CathieP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysCafeDeWheels, Owner at Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Thank you, Cathie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Harry's Cafe de Wheels - Woolloomooloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.