We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Fun”
Review of 1989 Arcade Bar

1989 Arcade Bar
Ranked #1,727 of 6,364 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$5 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Newtown
Description: 1989 Arcade Bar is a classic video game arcade and small bar. With 13 arcade classics on the floor, from Space Invaders to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, ’89 is a gaming utopia and fantastic place to eat & drink.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

Cool place to experience a bit of vintage gaming. Service was meh. One of he bartenders felt like he got irritated with every single interaction. Some machines did not allow 2 players. Only one pinball. I will go back.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Farrarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2019 via mobile

The place is only small, and it was very very busy when we arrived but somehow managed to snag a table big enough for 4. I love the concept and we had a lot of fun. It’s a good place to hang with friends.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank katerobinson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2019

With the high drink prices, you'd think they could maintain the machines better. We did get unlimited games on one of the Time Crisis guns after they tried to fix the coin slot but the sights were off so it wasn't that great.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

If I personally designed the best possible bar for myself, I couldn’t create anything better than 1989. It is absolutely perfect.

Whether you’re a die-hard fanatic or just someone who enjoys the nostalgia, this place just gets it all spot on. The place is filled with video arcade games, and all genuine originals (no reproductions here) which is great for arcade enthusiasts. The games are all well maintained and play well.

The decor is just amazing. Walls covered in VHS covers, Ninja Turtle and Watchmen comic pages, original movie posters and vintage action figures. It’s all quality stuff too. All genuine, originals and well chosen.

Also some of the best burgers I’ve had. Extremely filling and well priced.

I loved visiting 1989. Totally worth the trip if you’re in Sydney and a fan of video games or pop culture nostalgia in general.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank shanehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were in Sydney for a few days and stumbled upon 1989. The owners/staff were so lovely and keen to chat. The selection of games was great and really cool design inside. We had a lot of fun here and will definitely be returning. Thanks guys :)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank kimberlytsotras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1989 Arcade Bar also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to 1989 Arcade Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.