We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
educational

this place is educational, and you get to see the mint factory. tour can be signed up if you want... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
denniswyh
,
Melbourne, Australia
How surprising

My partner suggested we go and have a look. Begrudgingly, I went along with her......this is going... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Michael_S255097
,
Hobart, Australia
Read all 1,197 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Canberra
from US$44.30
More Info
from US$11.10
More Info
from US$243.80
More Info
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveler rating
598
443
133
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
443
133
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews factory floor australian coins make your own coin making dollar coin decimal currency money money money gift shop interesting place to visit guided tour free entry public holiday free tour interesting history worth a visit quick visit great displays
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It's not every day you get to print money. The Mint has a couple of machines that you can print a $1 coin, kids love it

Great range of historical coin collections and a little cafe as well for a coffee stop.

Thank 992louiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for visiting. We trust it won’t be long before the coins your kids made are sitting alongside some others that they have collected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Our family trip included a trip to the mint, a must see and wait for the tour - Jamie our tour guide today was brilliant, energetic, knowledgable and engaging.
The place was interesting and informative for teens and the adults learnt a thing or two too.

Great attraction since it is a free venue. So enjoy it.

Thank my1stmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for visiting. Being called a ‘must see’ makes us feel as almost as rich as a coin collector with a 1930 penny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The coin displays, historical exhibitions and viewing areas of the coin production processes wererilliant. We read every word and didn’t tire at all!

We spent well over two hours here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The gift shop has a wide range of coins etc for sale. We were taken with the bracelet watomens watches with birth year six penny piece face.

A must do in Canberra.

Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for the review. Think of us next time you’re looking at an Australian coin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I was taken back about how interesting this place was. arrived just as a guided tour was to start at 11am. A must if you go here. The lady made it so more interesting. There was so much to how our coins are made and it makes you question every coin in your purse. There is a café on site.

Thank jules_w68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for giving us a chance to amaze you. Of course, we never doubt the special place that coins can have in everybody’s life, but we’re always up to the challenge of reminding our valued visitors of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I've visited a few times now and it's always been a good way to pass a few lazy hours before my flight, but this time I caught the tour and was totally blown away!!
Our guide Jai was utterly captivating, and really made the whole experience come alive. He was exceptionally knowledgeable, and had us all in stitches the entire time. Class act all the way
We'll be back for sure!!

Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for your repeat visits, and for expanding your mint experience to include our tours. We’re always in awe of the passion and knowledge that our Visitor Experience Hosts share with visitors, and are so proud (but not at all surprised) to hear how well they’ve struck a chord with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews