We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a visit and take the tour”

Royal Australian Mint
Ranked #10 of 258 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to the Mint, where every single Australian coin in the pockets of millions of Australians is made! While wandering through the Mint's observation gallery you can look into the coin production factory and marvel at Titan, one of our great family of robots who help out with all the heavy lifting. Spend some time in the theatrette where a video will take you behind the scenes to explain the fascinating process of making coins. Check out the rare and historically significant coins on show from the National Coin Collection, which is held in the vaults of the Mint. Mint your own collectable coin and browse the Mint Coin Shop where you can find great gifts, mementos of your visit or even start your own collection! We offer free public tours twice daily Monday- Friday and three times daily on the weekends.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Worth a visit and to take the into tour - probably a 1 hour visit is enough - the exhibition on the history of money and coinage is worth viewing and if you could see the Minting process in action it would be impressive - but if you visit on the weekend not much equipment is operating. Gift Shop has lots of high priced stuff, best value would be paying $3 to mint your own $1 coin - a relatively cheap souvenir of your visit.

Thank melbourne-vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for the review. We’re very proud to offer exhibitions and tours to allow people to enjoy the story of coins in their own way. Of course, we feel the same way about our shop, which is why we stock a range of items to suit all interests and budgets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"factory floor"
in 39 reviews
"australian coins"
in 37 reviews
"coin making"
in 32 reviews
"make your own"
in 48 reviews
"dollar coin"
in 26 reviews
"decimal currency"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 70 reviews
"guided tour"
in 63 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 27 reviews
"free tour"
in 41 reviews
"free entry"
in 41 reviews
"public holiday"
in 13 reviews
"interesting history"
in 11 reviews
"quick visit"
in 18 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 45 reviews
"school groups"
in 15 reviews
"great displays"
in 13 reviews
Filter

117 - 121 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It's not every day you get to print money. The Mint has a couple of machines that you can print a $1 coin, kids love it

Great range of historical coin collections and a little cafe as well for a coffee stop.

Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for visiting. We trust it won’t be long before the coins your kids made are sitting alongside some others that they have collected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Our family trip included a trip to the mint, a must see and wait for the tour - Jamie our tour guide today was brilliant, energetic, knowledgable and engaging.
The place was interesting and informative for teens and the adults learnt a thing or two too.

Great attraction since it is a free venue. So enjoy it.

Thank my1stmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for visiting. Being called a ‘must see’ makes us feel as almost as rich as a coin collector with a 1930 penny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The coin displays, historical exhibitions and viewing areas of the coin production processes wererilliant. We read every word and didn’t tire at all!

We spent well over two hours here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The gift shop has a wide range of coins etc for sale. We were taken with the bracelet watomens watches with birth year six penny piece face.

A must do in Canberra.

Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for the review. Think of us next time you’re looking at an Australian coin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I was taken back about how interesting this place was. arrived just as a guided tour was to start at 11am. A must if you go here. The lady made it so more interesting. There was so much to how our coins are made and it makes you question every coin in your purse. There is a café on site.

Thank jules_w68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for giving us a chance to amaze you. Of course, we never doubt the special place that coins can have in everybody’s life, but we’re always up to the challenge of reminding our valued visitors of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Australian Mint also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Royal Australian Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing